“I refuse to accept the view that mankind is so tragically bound to the starless midnight of racism and war that the bright daybreak of peace and brotherhood can never become a reality.... I believe that unarmed truth and unconditional love will have the final word.”
Martin Luther King, Jr.
Recommend a Resource
Select the button below to recommend a resource to add to this topic.
Featured eBook
eBooks
Electronic Resources
To view, select the video below and enter your library barcode number or myLoneStar Username and Password Login. Additional videos can be accessed through the library's Video Databases.
I AM NOT YOUR NEGRO is a journey into black history that connects the past of the Civil Rights movement to the present of #BlackLivesMatter. It is a film that questions black representation in Hollywood and beyond. And, ultimately, by confronting the deeper connections between the lives and assassination of these three leaders, Baldwin and Peck have produced a work that challenges the very definition of what America stands for.
Strange Fruit is the first documentary exploring the history and legacy of the Billie Holiday classic. The song's evolution tells a dramatic story of America's radical past using one of the most influential protest songs ever written as its epicenter. The saga brings viewers face-to-face with the terror of lynching even as it spotlights the courage and heroism of those who fought for racial justice when to do so was to risk ostracism and livelihood if white - and death if Black. It examines the history of lynching, and the interplay of race, labor and the left, and popular culture as forces that would give rise to the Civil Rights Movement.
How did Jim Crow begin? As Reconstruction ended, African Americans' efforts to assert their constitutional rights began to be repressed at every turn, betraying the promises of Emancipation. Southern whites were embolden by the North's withdrawal of support for Black access to land, civil and economic rights, and due process in law and politics. Whites passed laws that segregated, divested and disfranchised African-Americans -- laws that were enforced with violence and terror.
The Talk – Race in Americais a two-hour film about “the talk” that parents have with their children of color (primarily boys) to teach them how to act around the police in order to remain safe.
Fifty years ago, 23-year-old John Lewis raised his voice to a crowd of more than 200,000 people at a protest march that would come to represent 'the best of America.' Gwen Ifill talks to the congressman about what motivated him to become a young civil rights leader and the current state of civil rights and equality in America.
Combining archival footage with testimony from activists and scholars, director Ava DuVernay's examination of the U.S. prison system looks at how the country's history of racial inequality drives the high rate of incarceration in America.
To view, select the article below and enter your library barcode number or myLoneStar Username and Password Login. Additional articles can be accessed through the library's Databases.
- Christina Wilke, "Trump cranks up attacks on the Black Lives Matter movement for racial justice," CNBC, 6/25/2020
President Donald Trump on Thursday launched his most direct attacks to date on the nationwide Black Lives Matter movement for racial justice. - Amy Harmon, Apoorva Mandavilli, Sapna Maheshwari and Jodi Kantor, "From Cosmetics to NASCAR, Calls for Racial Justice Are Spreading," New York Times, 6/13/2020What started as a renewed push for police reform has now touched seemingly every aspect of American life.
- Nichole Nelson, "Reparations need to be part of the conversation about racial justice," The Washington Post, 6/29/2020Police violence sparked an uprising, but racial equality demands economic reforms as well.
- Kailee Scales, "Information is Power. Disinformation is Dangerous," Medium, 7/8/2020We can all agree that this time is different. The horror is different. The awakening is different. The response is different.
- Allegra Frank, "What’s in a name?," Vox, 7/9/2020As tens of millions of people worldwide have taken to the streets over the past six weeks to pronounce that Black lives matter, corporate America has been nudged into action. But instead of marching alongside protesters, it’s eyeing its own shelves.
- N. Jamiyla Chisholm, "The Movement for Black Lives Introduces the BREATHE Act," ColorLines, 7/7/2020To hold legislators accountable to Black lives and the lives that have been snuffed out by law enforcement—Breonna Taylor, Tony McDade, Natasha McKenna, George Floyd, Aiyana Stanley-Jones, Elijah McClain, Pearlie Golden, Kayla Moore, Freddie Gray, Atatiana Jefferson, Oscar Grant, and many more—the Electoral Justice Project for the Movement for Black Lives (M4BL) introduced the BREATHE Act today (July 7).
- Sarah Silkey, "There are many leaders of today’s protest movement – just like the civil rights movement," The Conversation, 7/7/2020The recent wave of protests against police brutality and systemic racism has inspired numerous comparisons with the civil rights movement of the 1950s and 1960s.
- Zack Beauchamp, "What the police really believe," Vox, 7/7/2020Inside the distinctive, largely unknown ideology of American policing — and how it justifies racist violence.
- Fabiola Cineas, "The legacy of Black Lives Matter," Vox, 7/6/2020The power of the movement lies in making the public, and politicians, take notice.
- Anthony Rivas, "The fight to vote: Black activists work to upend a history of voter suppression," ABC News, 6/19/20vvvActivists are working to ensure African-Americans are informed on elections and have access to be able to vote.
- Racial Justice | American Civil Liberties Union
The ACLU Racial Justice Program aims to preserve and extend constitutionally guaranteed rights to people who have historically been denied their rights on the basis of race. - Racial Justice | Equal Justice InitiativeThe Equal Justice Initiative is committed to ending mass incarceration and excessive punishment in the United States, to challenging racial and economic injustice, and to protecting basic human rights for the most vulnerable people in American society.
- African American Policy ForumFounded in 1996, The African American Policy Forum (AAPF) is an innovative think tank that connects academics, activists and policy-makers to promote efforts to dismantle structural inequality. We utilize new ideas and innovative perspectives to transform public discourse and policy.
- Anti-Defamation LeagueFrom Brown vs. Board of Education to Selma to Ferguson, ADL has historically been on the front lines when it comes to fighting for racial equality and justice.
- Rosa Parks CollectionThe papers of Rosa Parks (1913-2005) span the years 1866-2006, with the bulk of the material dating from 1955 to 2000. The collection, which contains approximately 7,500 items in the Manuscript Division, as well as 2,500 photographs in the Prints and Photographs Division, documents many aspects of Parks's private life and public activism on behalf of civil rights for African Americans.
- Latino Cultures in the USDiscover the contributions and experiences of Latinos in the United States.
- Smithsonian National Museum of African American History & CultureThe National Museum of African American History and Culture is the only national museum devoted exclusively to the documentation of African American life, history, and culture. It was established by Act of Congress in 2003, following decades of efforts to promote and highlight the contributions of African Americans. To date, the Museum has collected more than 36,000 artifacts and nearly 100,000 individuals have become members. The Museum opened to the public on September 24, 2016, as the 19th and newest museum of the Smithsonian Institution.
- Smithsonian Latino CenterThe Smithsonian Latino Center is the corazón of Latinidad at the Smithsonian. It works toward preserving Latino history and culture, engaging Latino communities, and advancing Latino representation in the United States.
- Smithsonian National Museum of Asian ArtAs the Smithsonian’s National Museum of Asian Art, the Freer Gallery of Art and the Arthur M. Sackler Gallery preserve, exhibit, and interpret Asian art in ways that deepen our understanding of Asia, America, and the world.
- The Arab American National Museum (AANM)The Arab American National Museum (AANM) is the first and only museum in the United States devoted to documenting and sharing Arab American contributions that shaped the economic, political and cultural landscapes of American life. The Museum also brings to light the shared experiences of immigrants and ethnic groups, paying tribute to the diversity of our nation.
- National Civil Rights MuseumThe National Civil Rights Museum traces the history of the civil rights movement in the United States from the 17th century to the present. The museum is built around the former Lorraine Motel, which was the site of the assassination of Martin Luther King Jr. in 1968.
- Hate in America“Hate in America,” an investigation examining intolerance, racism and hate crimes, is the 2018 project of the Carnegie-Knight News21 program, a national multimedia reporting project produced by the nation’s top journalism students and graduates. They conducted hundreds of interviews, produced a documentary and a five-episode podcast following the lifecycle of hate.
- America Reckons with Racial Injustice (NPR)
Collection of NPR broadcasts and stories dealing with racial injustice. - Brené with Ibram X. Kendi on How to Be an AntiracistI'm talking with professor Ibram Kendi, New York Times bestselling author of How to Be an Antiracist and the Director of the Antiracist Research and Policy Center at American University. We talk about racial disparities, policy, and equality, but we really focus on How to Be an Antiracist, which is a groundbreaking approach to understanding uprooting racism and inequality in our society and in ourselves.
- Code Switch (NPR)Race. In Your Face. We're a multi-racial, multi-generational team of journalists fascinated by the overlapping themes of race, ethnicity and culture, how they play out in our lives and communities, and how all of this is shifting.
- The Daily (New York Times)Covers major issues of the day. Recent podcasts include "How Facebook Is Undermining ‘Black Lives Matter’," "The History and Meaning of Juneteenth," "The Killing of Rayshard Brooks," and "The Case for Defunding the Police."
- The Intercept PodcastsSeries includes Deconstructed, Intercepted, Somebody and Murderville, GA. Recent podcasts include the 2 part "Ruth Wilson Gilmore Makes the Case for Abolition."
- Intersectionality Matters!Intersectionality Matters! is a podcast hosted by Kimberle Crenshaw, an American civil rights advocate and a leading scholar of critical race theory.
- Into America (NBC News)This is a show about everyday people, and the power politics and policy have in shaping our lives. As the nation faces a health crisis that is unprecedented in the modern era, host Trymaine Lee helps Americans share their stories.
- Justice in America (The Appeal)Each episode explains a new criminal justice issue and features conversations with experts and advocates.
- Life on the Margins (Town Hall Seattle)Episodes from this podcast include "Pandemic, Racial Justice and Arts," and "The Movement for Change," and "Rage, Riot, Racism: The Killing of George Floyd," and "Coronavirus Racism."
- Momentum (Race Forward)Momentum: A Race Forward Podcast features movement voices, stories, and strategies for racial justice.
- Movement Memos (TruthOut)An ongoing call to action for movement work and mutual aid efforts around the country. Kelly Hayes connects with activists, journalists and others on the front lines to break down what’s happening in various struggles and what listeners can do to help.
- New Yorker Radio HourProfiles, storytelling and insightful conversations, hosted by David Remnick. Recent episodes include "Getting White People to Talk About Racism" and "Can Police Violence Be Curbed?"
- Pod Save the PeopleOn Pod Save the People, DeRay McKesson explores news, culture, social justice, and politics with Sam Sinyangwe, Kaya Henderson and De'Ara Balenger. They offer a unique take on the news, with a special focus on overlooked stories and topics that often impact people of color.
- Racism in America with Bakari SellersEntrepreneur, best-selling author, nonprofit founder, philanthropist, and former Presidential Candidate Andrew Yang, finally gets his chance to speak in this weekly podcast, Yang Speaks. Here, he sits down with Bakari Sellers, an American attorney, political commentator, and politician.
- Seeing White (Scene on Radio)Scene on Radio is a podcast that tells stories exploring human experience and American society. Produced and hosted by John Biewen, Scene on Radio comes from the Center for Documentary Studies (CDS) at Duke University and is distributed by PRX. Seeing Whites from Season 2 (2017)
- Silence is Not an Option (CNN)Podcast hosted by Don Lemon: "In our new podcast, we're going to dig deep into the reality of being Black and Brown in America, and explore what you can do to help find a path forward. We'll have tough conversations with activists, ratists, and thinkers about our nation's deep racial divide."
- Today, Explained (Vox)Today, Explained is Vox's daily explainer podcast. Recent episodes include "Black Lives Matter is Working," "What 'abolish the police' means," and "Justice for Breonna Taylor."
- Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion
This office exists to foster a culture of equity through analysis, awareness, and advocacy of diverse populations and identify more inclusive practices for employees and students. - Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion PublicationsThis site includes publications by the Diversity Action committee.
- LSC-Montgomery Center for Civic EngagementThe Center for Civic Engagement at Lone Star College- Montgomery facilitates nonpartisan learning opportunities for students, faculty, staff, and community members to encourage them to become more engaged citizens. Our goal is to aid in the development of critical thinking, personal responsibility, and civil discourse skills in participants so that they develop a sense of urgency about issues and talk and act more in their communities, be it their classroom, campus, local, state, national, or global communities.
