Kindle Fire
EBSCO eBook Collections (LSCS, MCMLS, HCPL)
Library Card Needed: Lone Star College System, Montgomery County Memorial Library System, or Harris County Public Library
Access Types: Online Web Browser or Offline via Application
Applications Needed: Web Browser or Bluefire Reader App and Adobe Digital Editions
- EBSCO eBook Collection (LSCS) This link opens in a new windowSearch complete electronic books. Set up a free account and download to your PC, Mac, Nook, Sony, Android, iPhone, or iPad.
- EBSCO eBook Collection (MCMLS) This link opens in a new windowSearch complete electronic books. Set up a free account and download to your PC, Mac, Nook, Sony, Android, iPhone, or iPad.
- EBSCO eBook Collection (HCPL) This link opens in a new windowSearch for and read thousands of books online, some can be downloaded (formerly NetLibrary).
From your browser:
1. Navigate to the resource.
2. Search for items by keyword, subject, or title.
3.Select desired record.
4. Select "PDF Full Text" or "EPUB Full Text" link on the left sidebar.
Before you start:
Create an Adobe ID
Download the Bluefire Reader APK app
Checkout and Download an eBook
Next, locate an eBook you wish to download to your device and use the following steps to download it.
To download an eBook:
-
Make sure under your Kindle Fire settings will allow you to download eBooks. Go to Settings > More > Device > Allow the installation of apps from other sources > ON.
-
Run a search on EBSCOhost or EBSCOhost Mobile and tap an eBook image in the result list for the eBook you would like to download.
The detailed record is displayed.
-
Tap the Download (Offline) link for the eBook you would like to download.
If you are not logged into your personal My EBSCOhost folder, you are prompted to do so.
-
Select a Checkout period from the drop-down menu and tap the Checkout & Download button.
The eBook is added to the Checkout area of your My EBSCOhost folder and begins to download to your device.
-
Bluefire should automatically open and prompt you to view your library or begin reading the eBook.
You may now begin reading the eBook on your Kindle Fire device.
Notes:
-
After your eBook checkout expires, the eBook file is still be on your device but can not be opened. You must remove the file manually by opening Bluefire and selecting to remove it from your library.
Before you start:
Create an Adobe ID
Download the Adobe Digital Editions
Connect your Kindle to your computer's USB port
Checkout and Download an eBook
Use the a web browser on your computer to access EBSCO eBooks and locate an eBook you would like to download to the device.
To download an eBook:
-
Click the Download (Offline) link for the eBook you would like to download.
If you are not logged into your My EBSCOhost folder, you will be prompted to do so.
-
Select a Checkout period from the drop-down menu and click the Checkout & Download button.
The eBook will be added to the Checkouts area of the folder.
-
When the window pops up, select Open with Adobe Digital Editions. Your eBook will appear in the Adobe program once opened.
-
Ensure that your device is connected to your computer in order to transfer your downloads. Select Library in the top left hand corner within Adobe Digital Editions. You will see eBooks within your library. Drag and Drop your downloaded eBook onto your Kindle on the right hand of the screen.
-
Unplug your Kindle to begin reading.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (LSCS)
Library Card Needed: Lone Star College System
Access Types: Online Web Browser
Applications Needed: Online Web Browser
- Gale eBooks (LSCS) This link opens in a new window(Gale) Includes full-text, searchable reference sets in literature, business, education, game programming, and social sciences.
From your browser:
1. Navigate to the resource.
2. Search for items by keyword, subject, or title.
3. Select desired record. The full-text is available in the record.
4. In the Tools section, Select "Download".
5. Select "PDF" or "HTML"
From your browser:
1. Navigate to the resource.
2. Search for items by keyword, subject, or title.
3. Select desired record. The full-text is available in the record.
4. In the Tools section, Select "Download" or "Email" (send it to yourself to open on another device).
5. Select "PDF" and download to your device or transfer to your device from your computer.
Before you start:
Connect your Kindle Fire to your computer's USB port
Download an eBook PDF
Use the a web browser on your computer to access Gale Virtual Reference Libary eBooks and locate an eBook you would like to download to the device.
To download an eBook:
-
Click the Download PDF to eReader button. This button is only available at the document level set to Text View.
-
Click the Download button. Note where you download the PDF of the eBook.
-
With your Kindle Fire connected to your computer, open your downloaded location and drag and drop the ebook onto your device.
-
Unplug your Kindle Fire to begin reading.
Stat!Ref (LSCS)
Library Card Needed: Lone Star College System
Access Types: Online Web Browser or STAT!Ref App
Applications Needed: Web Browser or STAT!Ref App
- STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window(Teton Data Systems) NOTE: limited concurrent users per book.
From your browser:
1. Navigate to the resource.
2. Search for items by keyword, subject, or title.
3. Select desired record.
4. Scroll to the down the records and select the desired section from the "Contents" section for the full-text.
1. Download the STAT!Ref App to your device.
2. From your browser, navigate to the resource.
3. Create a STAT!Ref account by selecting the "My STAT!Ref" link.
4. Create a temporary login by selecting the "Temporary Login Account" tab.
5. Activate the STAT!Ref mobile app with the temporary login.
6. Start using the STAT!Ref app.
Note: You will occasionally need to renew the temporary login via the web browser.
For more detailed steps see: STAT!Ref Mobile App Help Sheet