Computer
EBSCO eBook Collections (LSCS, MCMLS, HCPL)
Library Card Needed: Lone Star College System, Montgomery County Memorial Library System, or Harris County Public Library
Access Types: Online Web Browser
Applications Needed: Online Web Browser
Links:
- EBSCO eBook Collection (LSCS)Search complete electronic books. Set up a free account and download to your PC, Mac, Nook, Sony, Android, iPhone, or iPad.
- EBSCO eBook Collection (MCMLS)Search complete electronic books. Set up a free account and download to your PC, Mac, Nook, Sony, Android, iPhone, or iPad.
- EBSCO eBook Collection (HCPL)Search for and read thousands of books online, some can be downloaded (formerly NetLibrary).
From your browser:
1. Navigate to the resource.
2. Search for items by keyword, subject, or title.
3.Select desired record.
4. Select "PDF Full Text" or "EPUB Full Text" link on the left sidebar.
Before you start:
Install Adobe Digital Editions
Create an Adobe ID
Checkout and Download an eBook
Next, locate an eBook you wish to download to your device and use the following steps to download it.
To download an eBook:
-
Click the Download (Offline) link for the eBook you would like to download.
-
Select a Checkout period from the drop-down menu and click the Checkout & Download button.
The eBook will be added to the Checkouts area of the folder. If you are not logged into your My EBSCOhost folder, you will be prompted to do so.
-
Select Open in Adobe Digital Editions and click OK.
Digital Editions sees the .acsm file, automatically downloads the PDF and unlocks the file's Digital Rights Management (DRM). The book can now be read in Digital Editions.
Ebook Central (LSCS MCMLS, HCPL)
Library Card Needed: Lone Star College System, Montgomery County Memorial Library System, or Harris County Public Library
Access Types: Online Web Browser
Applications Needed: Online Web Browser
Links:
- Ebook Central (LSCS) This link opens in a new window(ProQuest) Over 100,000 ebook titles covering a full range of academic topics. General reference works are also included.
- Ebook Central (MCMLS) This link opens in a new windowThe ebrary eBook Collection offers more than 28,000 carefully curated eBooks spanning coverage in all science and technology topics with exceptional strength in computers and IT, engineering, life and physical sciences, and math. The e-Libro eBook collection includes over 70,000 titles from more than 500 publishers, 95% from Latin America and Spain. (ProQuest; TexShare)
- Ebook Central (HCPL) This link opens in a new windowHere you'll find eBooks covering topics within the fields of science and technology
From your browser:
1. Navigate to the resource.
2. Search for items by keyword, subject, or title.
3. Select desired record.
4. Select "Read Online" or "Full Download" link on the left sidebar. There is also an option for "Chapter Download."
Before you start:
Install Adobe Digital Editions
Create an Adobe ID
Checkout and Download an eBook
Next, locate an eBook you wish to download to your device and use the following steps to download it.
To download an eBook:
-
Click the Download (Offline) link for the eBook you would like to download.
-
Select Full Download from the menu.
If you are not logged into your E-Libro Premium account, you will be prompted to do so.
-
Select Open in Adobe Digital Editions and click OK.
Digital Editions sees the .acsm file, automatically downloads the PDF and unlocks the file's Digital Rights Management (DRM). The book can now be read in Digital Editions.
-
After the eBook is finished downloading, select Read Later or Read Now to open your eBook and begin reading.
Gale Virtual Reference (LSCS)
Library Card Needed: Lone Star College System
Access Types: Online Web Browser
Applications Needed: Online Web Browser
Links:
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryIncludes full-text, searchable reference sets in such areas as literature, business, education, game programming, and social sciences.
From your browser:
1. Navigate to the resource.
2. Search for items by keyword, subject, or title.
3.Select desired record. The full-text is available in the record.
4. In the Tools section, Select "Download".
5. Select "PDF" or "HTML"
From your browser:
1. Navigate to the resource.
2. Search for items by keyword, subject, or title.
3.Select desired record. The full-text is available in the record.
4. In the Tools section, Select "Download" or "Email" (send it to yourself to open on another device).
5. Select "PDF" and download to your device or transfer to your device from your computer.
STAT!Ref (LSCS)
Library Card Needed: Lone Star College System
Access Types: Online Web Browser
Applications Needed: Online Web Browser
Links:
- STAT!RefFull-text electronic medical library; over 30 titles including CPT, ICD-9-CM, Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, and Detailed Drug Information for the Consumer™ reference books.
From your browser:
1. Navigate to the resource.
2. Search for items by keyword, subject, or title.
3. Select desired record.
4. Scroll to the down the records and select the desired section from the "Contents" section for the full-text.
