Writing Help for Students

The Backwards Research Guide for Writers: demystifies the writing process by inviting writers of all levels to focus on their passions, questions, and obsessions as the key to generating seeds for further exploration of the world around them. Writers then develop these questions into focused projects that explore the teller's central role in the open-ended quest of unfolding a research topic. The boom in narrative journalism, memoir, and creative nonfiction has generated wonderful writing, but no resource for writers exists to bridge the gap between passionate research and the page. This book addresses that gap by turning the task of research on its head and by speaking to students who resist the idea of research as an objective and dry assignment. Students are invited to experiment creatively with collecting observations and information and then to step beyond their subjective realities to interact with the world around them and ultimately become vulnerable authors willing to change their perspectives as they research and write.

Using casual language and a straightforward approach, Better Writing: Beyond Periods and Commas provides students with an easy-to-read and effective guide for developing their writing skills. Rather than intimidate and overwhelm novice writers with vast sets of rules, Travis Koll utilizes simple and relatable explanations and examples to demystify the writing process. Armed with this better understanding, one that reaches far beyond the mere mechanics of punctuation and grammar, students can begin to recognize the true nature and significance of writing, its potential impact on their readers, and the importance of their voices in their communities and the world.

Each semester, millions of college students are required to write research papers for class. Staring at a blank word processing document on your computer screen can create an uneasy feeling, especially as you wish for words to magically fill your 20-page assignment. This complete guide was created just for you -- the college student. In this book, you will learn tips for formatting your research paper, as well as how to complete a cohesive, well-structured assignment for any college course. This guide will walk you through the entire process of writing a research paper, from choosing a topic, to conducting your research, to writing and editing each draft of the assignment. You will learn how to properly use the library, as well as tricks for finding relevant and credible articles, books, and online sources. This comprehensive guide then takes you a step further, with information on how to check your work for plagiarism and eliminate it from your paper altogether as you learn how to use your research as a source to support your thesis. The book is filled with hundreds of hints, tricks, and secrets on how to make your research paper stand out in the stack.

The Craft of Research is the unrivaled resource for researchers at every level, from first-year undergraduates to research reporters at corporations and government offices. The book explains how to build an argument that motivates readers to accept a claim; how to anticipate the reservations of readers and to respond to them appropriately; and how to create introductions and conclusions that answer that most demanding question, "So what?". The book includes an expanded discussion of the essential early stages of a research task: planning and drafting a paper. The authors have revised and fully updated their section on electronic research, emphasizing the need to distinguish between trustworthy sources (such as those found in libraries) and less reliable sources found with a quick Web search.

Most international students need to write essays and reports for exams and coursework, but writing good academic English is one of the most demanding tasks students face. The Essentials of Academic Writing for International Students has been developed to help these students succeed in their assignments quickly! This course has a clear, easy-to-follow structure. Each unit contains examples, explanations and exercises, for use in the classroom or for self-study. The units are clearly organised to allow teachers and students find the help they need with writing tasks. All international students wanting to maximise their academic potential will find this practical and easy-to-use book an invaluable guide to writing in English for their degree courses. All elements of writing are clearly explained.

Fundamentals of College Composition (FCC) is a compact, college level writing text that presents the underlying grammatical structures of Standard American English in a format that is understandable without prior formal grammar training. The book's purpose is to improve the clarity and precision of undergraduate writing. FCC provides a sub-structure of grammar study sufficient to bring a modern student to a basic understanding of the foundations of compositional language arts. It confronts struggling writers with their compositional shortcomings, presents them with a kit of fundamental grammatical tools, explains the tools' purposes and functions, and invites students to write, revise, and re-write in short bursts of directed prose. It avoids every intricacy of grammatical science that does not apply directly and practically to the production of clear, concise sentences and structured paragraphs. instructor. Writing, revising and re-writing are obligations placed squarely on the student, but they are of little consequence without the pointed, deliberate, and supportive correction of the instructor. FCC coordinates these student-instructor efforts and provides a base of writing information and a spectrum of writing activities that will build tangible writing skills.

Improve Your Writing, now in an updated and expanded edition that covers online research, walks students step-by-step through the process of creating effective research papers and oral reports. Every element of the writing process is covered including selecting a topic, library and online research, developing an outline, writing from the first draft to the final draft, proofreading and much, much more.

Wendy Bishop and David Starkey have created a remarkable resource volume for creative writing students and other writers just getting started. In two- to ten-page discussions, these authors introduce forty-one central concepts in the fields of creative writing and writing instruction, with discussions that are accessible yet grounded in scholarship and years of experience. Keywords in Creative Writing provides a brief but comprehensive introduction to the field of creative writing through its landmark terms, exploring concerns as abstract as postmodernism and identity politics alongside very practical interests of beginning writers, like contests, agents, and royalties. This approach makes the book ideal for the college classroom as well as the writer's bookshelf, and unique in the field, combining the pragmatic accessibility of popular writer's handbooks, with a wider, more scholarly vision of theory and research.

A writing primer containing various sections, including those dealing with style, structure, evidence, and paper mechanics. All of these sections are complemented by a profuse number of examples that illustrate the different writing tools and potential pitfalls that students may encounter.

This is a pithy, no-nonsense, no-excuses guide to maximizing the quality and quantity of your scholarly products. Write to the Top! offers an accessible overview of the art of writing efficiently and effectively; it is the first book that explicitly summarizes the key elements to prolific productivity in academic settings.

Now in its 3rd edition, this book will be invaluable to help all students faced with essay writing, either at school, college or university. It is prepared by an experienced writing skills consultant and lecturer.

Improve your writing skills at your own pace. How do you target a specific audience in writing? What makes up a strong thesis statement? Is there a trick to maintaining clear communication in cyberspace? How do you achieve unity and coherence in a final draft? With Writing Clearly: A Self-Teaching Guide, you'll discover the answers to these questions and many more about the basics of communicating effectively through the written word. Each chapter in this hands-on guide focuses on key steps in the writing process, identifying the shared and differing skills demanded by each type of writing, be it a persuasive essay, a business letter, or a scientific report. The straight forward, structured format of Writing Clearly makes it fully accessible, providing an easy-to-understand, comprehensive overview for everyone-from students beginning to build skills, to adults lookingto improve their writing, to the experienced writer hoping to further hone skills in a certain area. Like all Self-Teaching Guides, Writing Clearly allows you to build gradually on what you have learned-at your own pace. Questions and self-tests reinforce the information in each chapter and allow you to skip ahead or focus on specific areas of concern. Packed with useful, up-to-date information, this clear, concise volume is a valuable learning tool and reference source for anyone who wants to develop or improve his or her basic writing skills.

Do ever wish that you could write the perfect university essay? Are you left baffled about where to start? This easy-to-use guide walks you through the nuts and bolts of academic writing, helping you develop your essay-writing skills and achieve higher marks. From identifying the essay type and planning a structure, to honing your research skills, managing your time, finding an essay voice, and referencing correctly, Writing Essays For Dummies shows you how to stay on top of each stage of the essay-writing process, to help you produce a well-crafted and confident final document.