LSC-Montgomery Resource Guides: eBook Access: Access by Library Card

Viewing eBooks

All of these collections can be viewed on your computer using free software:

Web Browser: EBSCO eBooks, Ebook Central, Gale, Library Catalog, Safari, Stat!Ref, TumbleBooks

Adobe PDF Reader: Gale, Overdrive Digital Media Collections

Adobe Digital Editions: EBSCO eBooks, Ebook Central, Overdrive Digital Media Collections

Many of these eBook formats can also be downloaded to various eReader devices. For more information on how to download these items to your eReader see our device-specific guides.

Access by Library Card

Click on the tabs for more information

An eBook is a digital file that is read on a computer or eReader device. Some eBooks are digital versions of print books, while others are produced exclusively in electronic form. Lone Star College-Montgomery Library offers a number of eBook titles and we are rapidly expanding our eBook collection to meet our patrons' needs. These books can be accessed from home or on the go via mobile devices.

Navigate through the tabs to learn more about the different eBook resources that are available by the library card you have.

Patrons with a LSC Library card can access:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Includes materials from over 650 reference books on many topics in higher education, including art, business, history, languages, literature, science, criminal justice, and political science.
The CORS platform also will allow students to easily search other sources, such as the library catalog and major research databases. Included are access to “mind maps”, a “tools” page (dictionary, images, etc), and the record tools (citations, translations, etc). Credo also serves as a limited discovery tool in that it connects the student’s search with some of our current databases and our catalog.
EBSCO eBook Collection (LSCS) This link opens in a new window
Search complete electronic books. Set up a free account and download to your PC, Mac, Nook, Sony, Android, iPhone, or iPad.
Ebook Central (LSCS) This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) Over 100,000 ebook titles covering a full range of academic topics. General reference works are also included.
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
(Teton Data Systems) NOTE: limited concurrent users per book.

Learn More About LSC eBooks

Patrons with a Montgomery County Memorial Library System card can access:

Consumer Reports Magazine (MCMLS) This link opens in a new window
Rigorous research, consumer insights, journalism, and policy expertise to inform purchase decisions done by an independent, nonprofit member organization that works side by side with consumers for truth, transparency, and fairness in the marketplace.
Ebook Central (MCMLS) This link opens in a new window
The ebrary eBook Collection offers more than 28,000 carefully curated eBooks spanning coverage in all science and technology topics with exceptional strength in computers and IT, engineering, life and physical sciences, and math. The e-Libro eBook collection includes over 70,000 titles from more than 500 publishers, 95% from Latin America and Spain. (ProQuest; TexShare)
EBSCO eBook Collection (MCMLS) This link opens in a new window
Search complete electronic books. Set up a free account and download to your PC, Mac, Nook, Sony, Android, iPhone, or iPad.
Flipster (MCMLS) This link opens in a new window
Browse any of our 101 Flipster digital magazine subscriptions online for free!
Checkout our Apps page to take your Flipster experience mobile.
hoopla (MCMLS) This link opens in a new window
hoopla digital partners with libraries across the United States and Canada to provide online and mobile access to eBooks, audiobooks, comics, music, movies, and TV.
New York Times (MCMLS) This link opens in a new window
Breaking news and award-winning journalism wherever you are. Read the latest headlines from today’s news, and experience the world with immersive storytelling formats, like augmented reality, audio, and 360 video.

Overdrive Media Collection (MCMLS)
Hundreds of popular fiction and non-fiction titles. Titles for kids, teens, and adults. An app is available for many mobile devices.
rbDigital (MCMLS)
Borrow free eAudiobooks, including Bestsellers, to stream or download to any device.
Scholastic BookFLIX (MCMLS)
Video storybooks paired with nonfiction ebooks. Perfect for children from preschool to 3rd grade.
TumbleBooks for Kids (MCMLS)
Collection of electronic children's books and young adult novels. Many titles include video animation, sounds, music, and narration. Books also available in French, Spanish, Chinese, Russian, Korean, and German. Puzzles and games available for most titles.
World eBooks (MCMLS)
Covers a wide area of subjects, curriculum areas, and reading levels. Subjects include: Animals, Arts & Crafts, Biographies & Autobiographies, Environment, History, Mathematics, Mythology, Nonfiction, Science & Nature, Social Studies, Space, and Transportation. Includes classics such as Little Women, Peter Pan, and plays by Shakespeare.
Learn More About MCMLS eBooks

Patrons with a Harris County Public Library card can access:

Credo (HCPL)
Here you'll find general reference resources, including encyclopedias and dictionaries, as well as videos, images, and maps

Ebook Central (HCPL) This link opens in a new window
Here you'll find eBooks covering topics within the fields of science and technology
EBSCO eBook Collection (HCPL) This link opens in a new window
Search for and read thousands of books online, some can be downloaded (formerly NetLibrary).
Flipster (HCPL) This link opens in a new window
Flipster is our downloadable magazine service. Save space in your bag by downloading magazines onto a mobile device, this service is perfect for travel!

Newsbank (HCPL)
Newsbank is a database service that allows users to read or download current and archival editions of the Houston Chronicle via text or through their innovative image format. The image format selection of the Chronicle, allows for readers to experience the newspaper as they would, if it had been delivered to their door. All sections of the newspaper are available including; ads, blogs, comics, online articles & obituaries.
Newspaper Source Plus (HCPL)
Here you'll find full-text national and international newspapers.
Overdrive Media Collection (HCPL)
Hundreds of popular fiction and non-fiction titles. Titles for kids, teens, and adults. An app is available for many mobile devices.
rbDigital (HCPL)
Audiobooks you can listen to on your computer or Apple or Android device
Safari Books Online (HCPL)
Safari Books Online is the premier electronic reference library for programmers and IT professionals. Note: There is a limit of five simultaneous users for this resource.
TumbleBooks for Kids (HCPL)
TumbleBooks is our children’s digital media app that gives children access to children’s books, graphic novels videos and games. Children have the choice to read the story themselves or to select a Read Along! A great fun and educational app for kids who love using mobile devices.
Learn More About HCPL eBooks