Library Services

Searching the Library Collections

You can find an item in the collection by searching the LSC Libraries Online Catalog. The catalog includes all of the all books, eBooks, CDs, and DVDs that are owned by all Lone Star College campus libraries, Montgomery County Public Library, and the Harris County Public Library systems. You can limit your search to items available at LSC-Montgomery library or you can search other locations to have items delivered here or pick up an item located at another location.

Watch this video for instructions on using the catalog to locate items.

Locating Items on the Shelf

Once you find an item in the catalog, review the record to confirm the location and call number.

Items in the library are organized by call number. The call number is like an address for the item and allows you to quickly locate items. It begins with letters that correspond with the subject area and then is followed by a combination of numbers and letters, ending with the year the item was published. 

Identify the correct bookcase in the stacks by matching the first two letters in the call number with the call number ranges on the bookcase's end cap. Then use the subsequent numbers to find the correct shelf and location of the item you are looking for by comparing the numbers on the book spines to the number you copied from the catalog. Visit the Service Desk for assistance finding an item. 

Tips

• Items marked as "REF" are for in-library use only, but there are copiers and scanners available in the STAR Center. Copies cost $.10 a page. Scanners are free to use, but remember to bring a USB to save your files.
• The record will indicate if the item is in a special collection. Items in a special collection are shelved together and are not a part of the regular collection. Lone Star College-Montgomery library has special collection areas for Children's, Course Reserves, ESL, Foreign Language, Leisure Reading, Music, periodicals, Playwright, Professional Development, and Student Success/Career.

Checking-out Items from the Library

To borrow (check-out) items from the library, patrons must have a library card. Most items can be checked-out using a Lone Star College student identification card, Montgomery County Public Library card, or Harris County Public Library card. 

Currently, enrolled students, dual credit students, and continuing education students may get a LSC student identification card, by bringing a government-issued ID card, student ID number, and proof of registration to the STAR Center service desk. Patrons may get a public library card by visiting a Montgomery County Public Library or Harris County Public Library location. 

The length of time for items borrowed depends on the item. Some materials such as course reserves, items marked “REF”, newspapers, magazines, and professional journals may not leave the library premises.

Requesting Items from Other Locations

If you did not limit your catalog search to a specific location your results will display all books, eBooks, CDs, and DVDs that are owned by all Lone Star campus libraries, Montgomery County Public Library, and the Harris County Public Library systems. These items may not be available on the shelf at LSC-Montgomery, but you can request the item through the catalog. This process is called "placing a hold".

Once you have located an item in the catalog, click on the title of the item to view the item record for more information. The information provided depends on the item; however, at the bottom of the record there will be a list of the libraries that have the item and the availability of the item.

If you have located a resource that is currently checked-out or is held at another location, you can place a hold on that item and designate where you would like to pick up that item. To place a hold:

1. Click Place Hold in the upper right-hand corner of the record.
2. Log into your account using a 13-digit library barcode and PIN. The barcode is found on the backside of the student ID or public library card. The PIN is the last four digits of the phone number used when the card was issued.
3. Next, you may be prompted to choose a library for pick-up. If you were not prompted, this is because it has been designated in your account. This information is viewable and changeable under the Personal Information tab, select the Preferences dropdown and choose.
4. Once the item you placed on hold becomes available, the selected location for pick-up will notify you either by a phone call or email, so make sure that all your personal information is current in the Personal Information tab.

You can see these steps and more by viewing the video below.

Requesting Items Not Found in the Catalog

If an item cannot be found in the library catalog or in the research databases, LSC students, faculty, and staff may request to borrow the resource from a library outside of the LSC consortium through the interlibrary loan (ILL) system by completing the interlibrary loan form. The general public has the availability of using ILL services via their local library where they hold a library account.

There are no guarantees that the resource desired is available or will be received by a certain time. Most ILL requests take anywhere from 2-6 weeks depending on the item, availability, location, and shipping.