LSC-Montgomery Resource Guides: Vital Signs Access: Articles &amp; E-Resources

Databases: Find Research Articles, Videos, & E-books

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles from journals, magazines and newspapers, plus image collections. Users can limit results to scholarly material.
Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
(Gale) Articles, experiments, videos, and podcasts on the most significant science topics of today. Contains magazine as well as academic journal and news articles.
Gale Interactive: Science This link opens in a new window
Manipulate 3D interactive models to visualize and understand concepts in biology, chemistry, earth, and space science.
Science Online This link opens in a new window
This full-text, weekly multidisciplinary scientific journal publishes original peer-reviewed research and noteworthy science news (1997 to the present).
SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) Full-text from an international collection of scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
Sustainability Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for industry-leading journals, magazines, books, trade publications on sustainability initiative management

Public Library of Science (PLOS)
PLOS provides access to 215,000+ peer-reviewed articles that are free to access, reuse and redistribute. Select the Biology option from the main web page to discover works in all areas of biological science, from molecules to ecosystems, including works at the interface of other disciplines, such as chemistry, medicine, and mathematics.
BioMed Central (BMC)
Open access resource providing research in science, technology, engineering and medicine. CLICK ON THE SEARCH ICON LOCATED AT TOP OF THE BMC HOME PAGE.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Biodiversity Heritage Online (BHL)
BHL is the world’s largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives.

Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
(Gale) Articles, experiments, videos, and podcasts on the most significant science topics of today. Contains magazine as well as academic journal and news articles.

Ebook Central (LSCS) This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) Over 100,000 ebook titles covering a full range of academic topics. General reference works are also included.
EBSCO eBook Collection (LSCS) This link opens in a new window
Search complete electronic books. Set up a free account and download to your PC, Mac, Nook, Sony, Android, iPhone, or iPad.

Academic Video Online (AV) This link opens in a new window
This streaming video source has 45,000+ titles covering: Science, Anthropology, Counseling & Therapy, Fashion, Business & Economics, Nursing, Diversity Studies, Education, Allied Health, Engineering, History, Music & Dance, News & Current Events, Theater & Drama, Criminal Justice.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
High-quality, educational streaming video from companies such as Films for the Humanities, BBC, and PBS. Note: Disable Compatibility View under Tools menu in Internet Explorer if the films do not play on your IE browser. Compatible browsers include: IE 8.0+, Mozilla Firefox 4.0+, Google Chrome 3+, Apple Safari 4.0+.
NOTE: Disable Compatibility View under Tools menu in Internet Explorer if the films do not play on your IE browser. Compatible browsers include: IE 8.0+, Mozilla Firefox 4.0+, Google Chrome 3+, Apple Safari 4.0+.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Classic cinema, independent films, and top documentaries in streaming video. Includes Media Education Foundation Collection.

What is a scholarly article?

Assignments often require the use of scholarly or peer-reviewed articles. Scholarly resources, such as journal articles, have distinct characteristics when compared to popular resources, such as magazine and newspaper articles. Here is a guide to identifying popular and scholarly resources:

	Popular Resources	Scholarly Resources
Purpose	Entertain or Inform	Present Research
Format	Glossy, colorful pages with lots of advertisements	Plain, black-and-white pages with graphs and tables; very few ads
Language	Written in every-day language	Formal, field specific
Audience	General Public	Professionals in the field, Faculty, and Students
Citations	Full citations generally not included	Full citations required
Examples	People Magazine, CNN.com	Journal of Psychology, JAMA

Peer-reviewed resources have been reviewed by other professionals in the field before being published. Not all scholarly resources are peer-reviewed. Many databases allow users to limit the results to include only peer-reviewed materials. If you are not sure if a source is peer-reviewed, contact a librarian for help.