Databases & Websites
Recommended Databases
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowFull text from over 500 journals for communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowFull text of articles from journals, magazines and newspapers, plus image collections. Users can limit results to scholarly material.
- MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from magazines & journals, and other sources including pamphlets, books, biographies, reports, etc.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowQuickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research.
- Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media This link opens in a new windowSearch millions of articles covering all aspects of communications, including advertising, public relations, and more.
- Gale OneFile: Information Science This link opens in a new windowAccess articles covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology. Updated daily.
- Vocational & Career Collection This link opens in a new windowFull text coverage for more than 350 trade and industry-related periodicals.
- Gale OneFile: Vocations and Careers This link opens in a new windowResearch a vocation, find an appropriate institution of learning, and get assistance on job searches and maintaining a career.
Research Databases
Since technical writing can consist of topics across the subjects, I have provided a link to the the Research Databases page below. Browse through different subject areas or click on the "All Databases by Title" to locate a specific database.
- Research DatabasesFor off-campus access, enter your 14-digit library barcode number located on the back of your college ID/ library card when prompted. No college ID or library card? Use your myLoneStar username and password by clicking the link below the barcode login.
Boolean Operators
Using Boolean operators in a database is highly recommended, as this approach usually generates the most useful results. Databases are not "intuitive" like search engines (e.g., Google) - they must be "told" how to process a search query. Boolean operators let you "tell" the database what you want to see in your results.
| AND |
Use AND to connect KEYWORDS - Retrieves sources with both/all terms [refines search] Example: diabetes AND adult AND self-management |
| OR |
Use OR to connect SYNONYMS & LIKE CONCEPTS - Retrieves sources with either/any term(s) [broadens search] Example: heart attack AND (female OR women) AND symptoms |
| NOT |
Use NOT to EXCLUDE word(s) - Eliminates sources with the word(s) following NOT Example: Omega-3 fatty acids NOT fish oils |
Identifying Keywords
When you are conducting your background research on your topic, consider the who, what, when, where and why of what you are reading, and highlight or write the main points down. You can use those as keywords in the databases!
Recommended Websites
- Purdue Owl: Professional, Technical Writing
This resource will help you conduct research and compose documents for the workplace, such as memoranda and business letters. This resource also includes resources for writing reports and scientific abstracts. - TechWhirlThis online resource is for anyone interested in the world of content management and technical communication. Explore TechWhirl to find new, compelling, thought-provoking, and helpful information on creating and managing information assets.
- Society for Technical Communication (STC)STC is a professional association dedicated to the advancement of technical communication across all fields. Technical communicators research and create information about technical processes or products directed to a targeted audience through various forms of media.
Other Resources
- Subject Resource GuidesThe subject resource guides provide information on the research process, how to locate and evaluate sources, connects you with the library catalog, research databases, citation help, and how to get tutoring help.