Skip to Main Content

LSC-Conroe Center Library Resource Guide

Research & Citation Help

 

In addition to the resources available at the LSC-Conroe Center Library, LSC-Conroe Center students have access to the academic resources and research assistants available at the LSC-Montgomery Library. The library is located in the STAR Center (Building F, 1st Floor); however, many of the resources and services are also available online and can be accessed from the LSC-Conroe Center Library or off-campus. This section will guide you through accessing these resources and finding additional help when you need it.

Accessing your library resources

As a LSC-Conroe Center student, you have access to both physical and electronic (online) resources available through LSC-Montgomery Library. Students access these resources with a library barcode. The library barcode is printed on the back of the LSC Student ID card, but students who are not able to visit campus to get a physical ID card can request their barcode number via email.

How to Obtain a Library Barcode

  • Visit the LSC-Montgomery library to get your student ID card (which also acts as your library card).

    • Note: You must have the following to get your ID card:

      • Lone Star College student ID number

      • Proof of current registration in a Lone Star College course 

      • Photo ID 

  •  If you are unable to come to campus, you can request a library barcode be issued to you via email by filling out the following form: lonestar.edu/library/card

    • Note: You must use your lonestar.edu email address to receive your barcode via email.

      • If you don't know your my.lonestar.edu credentials, contact the Office of Technology Services (OTS) desk at 832.813.6600.

How to Access the Library's Online Resources without a Library Barcode

If you require immediate access to the library's online resources, you may access the databases using your myLonestar Username & Password Login. However, this will only give your access to databases labeled (LSC Libraries). You will not be able to access campus specific databases without a library barcode.

  1. Access the LSCS Libraries databases and select a database to use. 
  2. If you have a library barcode (located on the back of your student ID) you can enter that into the "Library Barcode" box and click login. 
  3. If you do not have a library barcode, click on the blue link that says "myLoneStar Username & Password login." See image below

Library database authentication screen

• For questions regarding the library barcode, please contact the LSC-Montgomery Library service desk at 936.273.7387. 

• For questions regarding database access, contact MC-ResearchHelp@lonestar.edu.

 

Getting research and citation help

LSC-Conroe Center students can contact the librarians at LSC-Montgomery for research and citation help. Librarians can help students:

  • Identify keywords related to your topic
  • Locate, access, and use the research databases
  • Find academic resources for your topic
  • Evaluate resources for validity
  • Format in-text citations and works cited

Librarians are available to assist students by email, text, phone, live chat, video chat, or in-person. You can even make an appointment to meet at a specific date and time.

Here's how to contact a librarian:

Reference Desk

In-person assistance is available during research help service hours when the STAR Center | Library (Bldg F, 1st floor) is open.

 

Phone - 936.273.7390

Text - 936.657.2174

Email - MC-ResearchHelp@lonestar.edu

Resource Guides

Visit our guides to connect with subject-specific resources and other academic support services. Click here to select a guide.

Chat with a librarian

Instant Message with a librarian by clicking the "Chat with a Librarian" button.

In-Person Research Consultation

Schedule an in-person appointment with a librarian to get research and citation help. Click here for more information. We can even meet you at the LSC-Conroe Center Library!

Virtual Research Consultation

Schedule a virtual appointment with a librarian to get research & citation help. Click here for more information. 

Finding resources for your assignments

Physical Resources

In addition to the physical collections available at the LSC-Conroe Center Library, LSC-Conroe Center students have access to thousands of physical items located at the LSC-Montgomery Library and the libraries at all of our LSC sister campuses, as well the Montgomery County Public Library and the Harris County Public Library systems. These resources can be requested via the LSCS Library Catalog and delivered to the LSC-Conroe Center Library for your convenience. Visit the Physical Collections page to learn more.

E-Resources (Online/Digital Collections)

LSCS Libraries offers an extensive collection of online resources, including academic databases, eBooks, eJournals, images, reference sources (encyclopedias & dictionaries), streaming videos, and web resources that support a wide range of academic research. These resources can be accessed via the Research Databases page. More information about these resources and how to access them can be found on the Online Collections page.

Resource Guides

Resource guides are great tools to use as you start your assignments in the different classes you are taking. The guides are curated by LSC-Montgomery librarians to connect students to the different resources (i.e. books, databases, etc.) that the library has to support academic work in that particular subject.

To find a guide for your course, search for a specific subject guide using the Start Researching box below or explore some of our other guides by using the Explore More box. 

Connecting to E-resources

Photo of PDF linked below on how to access e-resources.

All of the library's online resources, with the exception of the web resources, require a library barcode, PIN, or an LSC student username and password. To learn more about getting a library barcode, click on the Accessing Library Resources tab on this page or visit Get a Library Card.