Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

DRAM 2366 | Prof. Kreps

Resources

undefined

Film Critique Paper

You will write a review over one of the films you watched together in class this semester. There are links below that may help you. You can also review the types of film analysis discussed in the textbook or in the course materials for chapter 1 (in D2L).

If you have any questions, please see Prof. Kreps prior to the due date, or visit the Write Place if you need help with your writing. Your professor does not require a formal format (such as MLA); however, she DOES expect proper grammar, correct spelling, etc. Your paper should be a minimum of 1000 words in length. If you do use an outside source, you will need to cite it appropriately and provide your professor with a Works Cited page.

There are some tips here -- http://www.dailywritingtips.com/7-tips-for-writing-a-film-review/ -- and here -- http://ohsfilmanalysis.blogspot.com/p/critique-guidelines.html

Background Research

Conducting background research will not only help you narrow your focus, but will also help you identify keywords to use when searching the databases for scholarly articles. 

Boolean Operators 

Using Boolean operators in a database is highly recommended, as this approach usually generates the most useful results.  Databases are not "intuitive" like search engines (e.g., Google) - they must be "told" how to process a search query.  Boolean operators let you "tell" the database what you want to see in your results.  

AND

Use AND to connect KEYWORDS - Retrieves sources with both/all terms [refines search]

Example: Star Wars AND Mandalorian

OR

Use OR to connect SYNONYMS & LIKE CONCEPTS - Retrieves sources with either/any term(s) [broadens search]

Example: Mandalorian AND (Grogu OR Baby Yoda)

NOT

Use NOT to EXCLUDE word(s) - Eliminates sources with the word(s) following NOT 

Example: Jango Fett NOT Boba

Identifying Keywords

When you are conducting your background research on your topic, consider the who, what, when, where and why of what you are reading, and highlight or write the main points down. You can use those as keywords in the databases!


Who, what, when, where and why

Databases

Video Databases

Websites

Streaming Video From a Social Media Website (YouTube, Vimeo, TikTok, etc.)

Last Name, First Name of video First Name of video creator or Username of Creator. "Title of Video." Title of the Hosting Website, uploaded by Username, Day Month Year of Publication, URL of video. Accessed Day Month Year video was viewed.

Works Cited List Example

Sethi, Ramit. "How to Write a Winning Resume, With Ramit Sethi." YouTube, uploaded by I Will Teach You to Be Rich, 23 June 2015, www.youtube.com/watch?v=_0fjkKCsM1w. Accessed 28 June 2016.

"Free Mental Health Support Available." YouTube, uploaded by ProvinceofBC, 15 Dec. 2020, https://youtu.be/K8qo-e9Jexc. Accessed 9 Sept. 2021.

Note: If the video creator is unknown, such as when a video is produced by an organization, begin the citation with the title of the video.

In-Text Citation Example

If video creator is known:

(Last Name of Video Creator Start Time of Relevant Section-End Time of Section)

(Sethi 00:03:30-00:04:16)

If video creator is unknown:

("Words from Title" Start Time of Relevant Section-End Time of Section)

("Free Mental Health" 00:05-00:10)

Note: Cite the relevant hour, minute and seconds as displayed in your media player. If the video is less than hour cite minutes and seconds only.

Streaming Video From a Library Database (Kanopy, Films on Demand, Academic Video Online: Premium)

Title of Video. Contributor(s), Publisher/Production Company, Date. Title of Library Database.

Note: Typically films, television episodes, and other performances have many contributors. After the title, list the contributors most relevant to your project. Most common contributors listed include directors, creators, and performers.  

Works Cited List Example

Land of the Blind. Directed by Robert Edwards, Samuel Goldwyn Films, 2006. Kanopy.

In-text Citation Example

(Words From Title Start Time of Relevant Section-End Time of Section)

(Land 01:11:50-01:10:52)

Note: The title of the film is in italics in the in-text citation because that is how it appears in the Works Cited List.

Note: Cite the relevant hour, minute and seconds as displayed in your media player. If the video is less than hour cite minutes and seconds only.

DVD or Film

Title of Movie. Contributor(s). Publisher/Production Company, Year of Release. 

Note: Typically films, television episodes, and other performances have many contributors. After the title, list the contributors most relevant to your project. Most common contributors listed include directors, creators, and performers.  

Works Cited List Example

The Usual Suspects. Directed by Bryan Singer, performances by Kevin Spacey, Gabriel Byrne, Chazz Palminteri, Stephen Baldwin, and Benicio Del Toro. Polygram, 1995. 

In-Text Citation Example

Title of Movie Start Time of Relevant Section-End Time of Section

(The Usual Suspects 01:15:15-01:20:03)

Note: The title of the film is in italics in the in-text citation because that is how it appears in the Works Cited List Example.

Note: Cite the relevant hour, minute and seconds as displayed in your media player. If the video is less than hour cite minutes and seconds only.

Film from a Streaming Video Service (Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Prime, etc.)

Title of Movie. Contributor(s). Publisher/Production Company, Year of Release. Name of Streaming Service.

Note: Typically films, television episodes, and other performances have many contributors. After the title, list the contributors most relevant to your project. Most common contributors listed include directors, creators, and performers.

Works Cited List Example Coraline. Directed by Henry Selick, screenplay by Henry Selick and Neil Gaiman, Laika, 2009. Netflix.
In-Text Citation Example

(Title of Movie Start Time of Relevant Section-End Time of Section)

(Coraline 1:25:15-01:40:05)

Note: The title of the film is in italics in the in-text citation because that is how it appears in the Works Cited List Example.

Note: Cite the relevant hour, minute and seconds as displayed in your media player. If the video is less than hour cite minutes and seconds only.

Television Series Episode from a Streaming Video Service (Netflix, Crave, Amazon Prime, etc.)

"Title of Episode." Title of TV Series, Contributors Name(s), season, episode,  Production Company, Year of Release. Name of Streaming Website, URL. 

Note: Typically films, television episodes, and other performances have many contributors. After the title, list the contributors most relevant to your project. Most common contributors listed include directors, creators, and performers.  

Note: Seasons of a television series are usually numbered in sequence, as are the episodes. Both numbers should be included in the works cited list. If the episode is untitled, omit this element and begin the citation with the title of the show. 

Works Cited List Example

"The One Where Chandler Can't Cry. Friends, created by Marta Kauffman, performance by Matthew Perry, season 6, episode 14, Warner Brothers, 2004. Crave, www.crave.ca.

In-Text Citation Example

("Title of Episode" Start Time of Relevant Section-End Time of Section)

("The One Where Chandler" 14:56-15:33)

Note: The title of the episode is in quotation marks in the in-text citation because that is how it appears in the Works Cited List Example.

Note: Cite the relevant hour, minute and seconds as displayed in your media player. If the video is less than hour cite minutes and seconds only.

Television Series Episode Viewed as a Broadcast or on DVD

"Title of Episode." Title of TV Series, Contributors Name(s), season, episode, Production Company, Year of Release. DVD if viewed on DVD. 

Note: Typically films, television episodes, and other performances have many contributors. After the title, list the contributors most relevant to your project. Most common contributors listed include directors, creators, and performers.  

Note: Seasons of a television series are usually numbered in sequence, as are the episodes. Both numbers should be included in the works cited list if available. If the episode is untitled, omit this element and begin the citation with the title of the show.

Works Cited List Example

"The Gathering." Outlander, developed by Ronald D. Moore, performances by Caitriona Balfe and Sam Heughan, season 1, episode 4, Left Bank Picture/Sony Pictures Television Production, 2014. DVD.

In-Text Citation Example

("Title of Episode" Start Time of Relevant Section-End Time of Section)

("The Gathering" 05:34-05:56)

Note: The title of the episode is in quotation marks in the in-text citation because that is how it appears in the Works Cited List Example.

Note: Cite the relevant hour, minute and seconds as displayed in your media player. If the video is less than hour cite minutes and seconds only.

Citations by Columbia College Library

eBooks