Skip to Main Content

Library Services

Online Resources

LSC Libraries offers an extensive collection of online resources, including academic databases, eBooks, eJournals, images, reference sources (encyclopedias & dictionaries), streaming videos, and web resources that support a wide range of academic research. These resources can be accessed via the Research Databases page. Details about these resources and how to access them can be found below.

All of the library's online resources (except free web resources) require a library card number & PIN or an LSC student username & password. To learn more about getting a library card number, visit Get a Library Card.

 

Finding an Academic Research Database

Each academic research database is a collection of resources that support students and faculty with their academic work. Some databases offer resources on a wide range of topics while other databases are more narrow in their scope. LSC Libraries offers hundreds of databases; to help you find the most appropriate resource for your research question these databases have been organized by subject with a brief description on the Research Databases page.

To access the databases, navigate to the Research Databases page, and start by selecting a subject area relevant to your research question, and then select the type of resource(s) needed to support your assignment. Review the resource description to decide if the content meets your needs and then click a title to access the database. If you are accessing the resources off-campus, clicking on a database title will prompt you to enter your LSC credentials to log in to begin a basic search. 

Do not see your subject?   View the LSC-Montgomery Resource Guide for your subject. Each guide includes a Find Sources section with suggested databases and websites. If you can't find what you need, select the Find Research Help to contact a librarian who can help you.

Looking for a specific database? If you already have a database title, you can view the Research Databases: Alphabetical list to find a specific database.

Note: Some content listed in the databases is unavailable due to purchasing agreements. You can refine your search to only display available by selecting the full-text option in advanced search.

Finding eBooks & Reference Resources

LSC Libraries offers a broad selection of ebooks and reference resources, such as dictionaries and encyclopedias. eBooks can be found through the library catalog (see Physical Collections), but ebook databases provide another access point. The reference databases are an excellent place to start if you are looking for background information on a subject.

To access the available ebooks and reference resources, navigate to the Reach Databases: E-Books & Reference page. Review the resource description to decide if the content meets your needs and then click a title to access the database. If you are accessing the resources off-campus, clicking on a database title will prompt you to enter your LSC credentials to log in to begin a basic search.

Looking for a specific database? If you already have a database title, you can view the Research Databases: Alphabetical list to find a specific database.

Note: Some content listed in the databases is unavailable due to purchasing agreements. You can refine your search to only display available by selecting the full-text option in advanced search.

Finding eJournals

eJournals are digital forms of periodicals, including academic journals, magazines, and newspapers. While databases provide content from multiple publications, eJournals provide content from a single publication organized by publication date. eJournals allow you to search all of the content in a specific publication or navigate to a specific article using the issue, volume, and date of the article.

To search the eJournal Publications collection available through LSC Libraries, navigate to the Publications (eJournals & Full Text Finder) page. Users must be a LSC student, faculty, or staff and use their LSC credentials to access this electronic resource. You can locate a specific source by typing in the information into the Searching: Library Publications field or you can browse by journal title or browse by the discipline.

Note: Not all content in Publications is available due to purchasing agreements. Look for full-text articles, open access, or download pdf.

Finding Audio/Visual Resources

Some of the databases in the LSC Libraries digital collection feature audio/visual materials, such as images, videos, and sound clips. Each subject area on the Research Databases page includes a section for Video, Images, and Music that highlights databases that include audio/visual material for that area.

To access the databases featuring streaming video content, navigate to the Research Databases: Video page. Review the resource description to decide if the content meets your needs and then click a title to access the database. If you are accessing the resources off-campus, clicking on a database title will prompt you to enter your LSC credentials to log in to begin a basic search. 

Looking for a specific database? If you already have a database title, you can view the Research Databases: Alphabetical list to find a specific database.

Web Resources

LSC-Montgomery librarians have curated a collection of high-quality web resources appropriate for academic research. These freely available resources are organized by subject. To access this collection visit the Digitized Collection page.