Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that allows you to search for scholarly resources in a variety of formats and disciplines.
Before beginning a search select the menu from the upper left hand corner 
and then select Settings. On the next screen select Library Links from the left hand menu and then search Lone Star College in the search bar provided. Once you search a new checkbox will be provided below. Select the box and click Save. Now any future searches will show results available through Lone Star.
Databases: Find Research Articles, Videos, & E-books
Quick Link: Research Databases
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowNearly 575 full-text publications, including some 550 peer-reviewed journals, in psychiatry, psychology, and related fields.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowFull text of articles from journals, magazines and newspapers, plus image collections. Users can limit results to scholarly material.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowComplete historical full text of all issues of journals in a wide range of humanities and social science fields.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull text of 285 journals in literature, history, international/cultural studies and other humanities and social science fields.
- Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new windowOver 300 full-text journals, including over 250 peer-reviewed titles, on theology, religious history, epistemology, and philosophy
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowQuickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research.
- Gale OneFile: Psychology This link opens in a new windowFind authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology.
- Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new windowLocate peer-reviewed research in ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline, as listed. No full text, but search for the publication title in LSCS Libraries' A-Z databasefor availability online or in one of the libraries' collections.
- Bibliography of Native North Americans This link opens in a new windowCitations on a wide range of topics related to native populations in the US and Canada
- STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window(Teton Data Systems) NOTE: limited concurrent users per book.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowIncludes materials from over 650 reference books on many topics in higher education, including art, business, history, languages, literature, science, criminal justice, and political science.
- EBSCO eBook Collection (LSCS) This link opens in a new windowSearch complete electronic books. Set up a free account and download to your PC, Mac, Nook, Sony, Android, iPhone, or iPad.
- Ebook Central (LSCS) This link opens in a new window(ProQuest) Over 100,000 ebook titles covering a full range of academic topics. General reference works are also included.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowHigh-quality, educational streaming video from companies such as Films for the Humanities, BBC, and PBS. Note: Disable Compatibility View under Tools menu in Internet Explorer if the films do not play on your IE browser. Compatible browsers include: IE 8.0+, Mozilla Firefox 4.0+, Google Chrome 3+, Apple Safari 4.0+.
- Academic Video Online (AV) This link opens in a new windowThis streaming video source has 45,000+ titles covering: Science, Anthropology, Counseling & Therapy, Fashion, Business & Economics, Nursing, Diversity Studies, Education, Allied Health, Engineering, History, Music & Dance, News & Current Events, Theater & Drama, Criminal Justice.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowClassic cinema, independent films, and top documentaries in streaming video. Includes Media Education Foundation Collection.
Tips for Selecting & Searching Databases
Determine what types of sources (journal articles, magazine articles, newspapers articles, books, etc.) you need for your assignment. Different databases contain different items. Knowing what you need will help you choose an appropriate database.
Our databases are organized by general subject. Also consider if your topic falls under more than one subject area. For example, research on the effects of Ritalin on the academic performance of students might fall under either "Education," or "Health and Medicine."
Boolean Operators: AND | OR | NOT - Combine these operators to improve your search results.
AND and NOT narrow your results, while OR expands your results. Examples:
- Therapy AND gait = articles about both "therapy" and "gait."
- Dementia OR memory = articles that are related to "dementia" and "memory". but not necessarily both in the same article. OR is often used between two words that have the same meaning.
- Dementia NOT Alzheimer's will remove articles related to Alzheimer's from your results list.
Combine these terms to create more complex searches. Example:
- (therapy AND (dementia OR "memory")) NOT Alzheimer's
Phrase Searching: Put quotations around multiple words to search them as a single phrase. Example:
- "therapy for dementia"
Truncation: In many databases, you can use * at the end of a word to search for multiple forms of the word. Example:
- thera* = therabolin, therapeutic, therapeutically, therapeutics, therapist, therapy, therapies
For more information on database powersearching, take a look at our Database Powersearching video.
Find out if the database you're using has a "subject search" option. For some topics, subject searching works better than keyword searching. Use the results of a keyword search to discover subject headings (descriptors) used in the database.