LSC-Montgomery Resource Guides: Career Resource Guide: Exploring Resources

Exploring Resources

Exploring career options is an important part of your academic experience since your desired career path will often define your major and the courses you take. Start exploring your potential career(s) by doing some background research. You may want to know how much you can make, how much education you need, and how competitive your field is before you dedicate your time and money to it.

Click through the tabs to explore some reputable career websites and library resources.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
BLS publishes projections for 818 occupations. The OOH includes detailed information on 580 occupations in 334 OOH profiles.
Career Onestop
Occupational and industry information available by state, as well as nationwide data.
O*Net Online
The O*NET program is the nation's primary source of occupational information. Central to the project is the O*NET database, containing information on hundreds of standardized and occupation-specific descriptors.
My Next Move
My Next Move is an interactive tool for job seekers and students to learn more about their career options. My Next Move has tasks, skills, salary information, and more for over 900 different careers. Includes a special section for veterans.

Overview & Background Information

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Includes materials from over 650 reference books on many topics in higher education, including art, business, history, languages, literature, science, criminal justice, and political science.
The CORS platform also will allow students to easily search other sources, such as the library catalog and major research databases. Included are access to “mind maps”, a “tools” page (dictionary, images, etc), and the record tools (citations, translations, etc). Credo also serves as a limited discovery tool in that it connects the student’s search with some of our current databases and our catalog.

Research Articles

Gale OneFile: Vocations and Careers This link opens in a new window
Research a vocation, find an appropriate institution of learning, and get assistance on job searches and maintaining a career.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles from journals, magazines and newspapers, plus image collections. Users can limit results to scholarly material.
Vocational & Career Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage for more than 350 trade and industry-related periodicals.
LearningExpress Library 3.0 This link opens in a new window
Prepare for entrance and exit exams, review writing, grammar, and math skills, and learn study, research, and other college success skills. Ten centers focus on tests and skills for levels from elementary to adult; includes job & career information.

Videos

Academic Video Online (AV) This link opens in a new window
This streaming video source has 45,000+ titles covering: Science, Anthropology, Counseling & Therapy, Fashion, Business & Economics, Nursing, Diversity Studies, Education, Allied Health, Engineering, History, Music & Dance, News & Current Events, Theater & Drama, Criminal Justice.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
High-quality, educational streaming video from companies such as Films for the Humanities, BBC, and PBS. Note: Disable Compatibility View under Tools menu in Internet Explorer if the films do not play on your IE browser. Compatible browsers include: IE 8.0+, Mozilla Firefox 4.0+, Google Chrome 3+, Apple Safari 4.0+.
NOTE: Disable Compatibility View under Tools menu in Internet Explorer if the films do not play on your IE browser. Compatible browsers include: IE 8.0+, Mozilla Firefox 4.0+, Google Chrome 3+, Apple Safari 4.0+.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Classic cinema, independent films, and top documentaries in streaming video. Includes Media Education Foundation Collection.

CollegeGrad.com
Search for entry level jobs and get expert advice on all stages of the job search process.
Data USA
The most comprehensive visualization of U.S. Public Data. Search for Occupation information.
Glassdoor
Find a jobs and company information, including reviews, salaries and benefits from current and former employees. Also, provides interview questions from candidates.
Idealist
Nonprofit site for jobs, internships and volunteer opportunities.
Indeed
Searches millions of job listings from multiple sites & publications. Allows users to create an account and save postings of interest as well as create email alerts.
The Jobs Market - Woodlands Online
The Jobs Market is THE place that quickly connects Woodlands Texas employers and job seekers.
Monster
Global job search service. Users can search for job opportunities or post their resume for review by recruiters.
Salary.com
Job searching and career development resources.
SimplyHired
Searches job listings, websites, classified and company website.