LSC-Montgomery Resource Guides: Course Conversion to Online Protocols Companion Resources: 2. Moving Your Class Online

Building Your Course in D2L

How do I create a course shell?

Once you've completed the Quick Onboarding portion of the Online teaching certification, you're ready to create your course shell. Start by activating your course in D2L. For a step-by-step guide to this process, watch the VTAC video below or visit the Activate a Course page.

Confirm that All of Your Students have Access to the D2L Course

After creating your course shell in D2L, confirm that all of the students on your roster have access to the course in D2L. To learn more about this process, watch the VTAC video below or visit the Reconcile Your D2L and iStar Rosters page.

Both of these steps are included on VTAC's Move Your Face-to-Face or Hybrid Course Online guide.

Add a User to your D2L Course Shell

You may want to add extra support to your course shell, such as a Department Chair, Embedded Librarian, or an Online Faculty Buddy. Learn more about adding users by watching this VTAC video or visit the Add A User to a Course page.

Links to Key Resources in this Section

Move Your Face-to-Face or Hybrid Course Online
Collection of VTAC resources and walk-throughs for moving a face-to-face or hybrid class online.

Need Help?

BASS Division | Business and Social Sciences
- Amy Curry | Amy.B.Curry@lonestar.edu
- Adjuncts should contact department chairs for assistance
BELS Division | Behavioral Sciences, English, Languages, and Speech
- Lori Hughes | Lori.R.Hughes@lonestar.edu
- Karin Branham | Karin.K.Branham@lonestar.edu
- Roy Turner | Roy.D.Turner@lonestar.edu
- Cliff Hudder | Clifford.W.Hudder@lonestar.edu
- Molly Lasco | Molly.Lasco@lonestar.edu
- Those interested may also contact your department chair to be matched with an experienced Online Buddy.
NASH Division | Natural Science, Engineering, and Health Professions
- Carol Johnson | Carol.B.Johnson@lonestar.edu
- Monica Gonzales | Monica.R.Gonzales@lonestar.edu
- Kelly Weller | Kelly.E.Weller@lonestar.edu
- Crista Force | Crista.M.Force@lonestar.edu
- Those interested may also contact your department chair to be matched with an experienced Online Buddy.
TEAM Division | Theater, Education, Arts and Humanities, and Math
- Contact your department chair.
Conroe Center
- Diana Brown | Diana.L.Brown@lonestar.edu
- Those interested may also contact your department chair to be matched with an experienced Online Buddy.

Lone Star College-Montgomery Faculty Resource Center
- Website: lonestar.edu/montgomery-frc
- Email: mc-frc@lonestar.edu
- Instructional Technologist
  - Eddie Brega | Eddie.Brega@lonestar.edu
Online Teaching & Learning
- Lorraine Lopez, Faculty Fellow | Lorraine.Lopez@lonestar.edu
- Becky Howard, BASS Division Online Champion | Rebecca.A.Howard@lonestar.edu
- Roy Turner, BELS Division Online Champion | Roy.D.Turner@lonestar.edu
- Carol Johnson, NASH Division Online Champion | Carol.B.Johnson@lonestar.edu
- Marion Horn, TEAM Division Online Champion | Marion.K.Horn@lonestar.edu
- Diana Brown, Conroe Center Online Champion | Diana.L.Brown@lonestar.edu
Faculty Professional Development
- Lori Hughes, Faculty Fellow | Lori.R.Hughes@lonestar.edu
- Carol Johnson | Carol.B.Johnson@lonestar.edu
- Dana Morales, BASS Division PD Champion | Dana.A.Morales@lonestar.edu
- EuraDell Davis, BELS Division PD Champion | EuraDell.D.Davis@lonestar.edu
- Kevin Akers, NASH Division PD Champion | Kevin.Akers@lonestar.edu
Disability Services
- Website: http://www.lonestar.edu/montgomery-disability-services.htm
Counseling Services
- Website: http://www.lonestar.edu/montgomery-counseling.htm

LSC Coronavirus (COVID-19) Community Updates
Find important resources and learn more about how LSC is responding to this developing situation.
Virtual Learning Assistance Center (VLAC)
The Virtual Learning Assistance Center is a collection of resources for LSC online students or students with online course components.
Virtual Teaching Assistance Center (VTAC)
The Virtual Teaching Assistance Center (VTAC) is an instructional resource created for Lone Star College faculty. The VTAC site provides instructional guides and training to assist with the development and implementation of successful online courses.
LSC Student Resources
A collection of key information and contacts for students in light of service changes due to COVID-19.

Lynda.com from LinkedIn
Lynda.com is an online video library of courses to help you learn software, creative and business skills. Courses for all levels cover technical skills, creative techniques, business strategies and more. Watch and learn from top experts who are passionate about teaching. All LSC employees have access to this resource thorough this link.
Office 365 for Students, Faculty, & Staff
LSC provides Office 365 to students, faculty and students free of charge. This resource includes installation instructions. With Office 365 on your personal device(s), you will have access to the latest version of Word, Excel, PowerPoint, OneNote, and more! Share and co-edit your schoolwork using Word, PowerPoint, Excel, and OneNote in real time—anywhere, any time, on any device. With 1 TB of OneDrive storage, you can keep all your work online for easy access.

Tips to using the calendar:

To see only one campus calendar, hover over the campus name and then click on the eye icon to the right
To toggle a calendar on and off, click on the campus name
Use the Filter area to search for events on a specific topic
- Only items within your date range will be displayed
View this calendar full screen

Note: All events are free unless stated otherwise.

Desire2Learn (D2L) – Guidance
A quick guide to key VTAC resources needed to build your D2L course shell. Authored by: Dr. Monica Gonzales, Lead Faculty, LSC-M Kinesiology Department
Start Guide for New Online Instructors D2L Introduction (LSC-M Edition)
Provides a step-by-step resource guide for building your online course. This version of the guide has been updated with information and contacts specific to the LSC-Montgomery campus.
Supporting Student Online Learning
Printable guide that provides a step-by-step approach to intentional course design. Authored by: Dr. Monica Gonzales, Lead Faculty, LSC-M Kinesiology Department
Accessibility: Learning for All
A quick guide to checking accessibility in Word, Google Docs, PDFs, Power Point, Excel documents, as well as other recommended resources. Authored by: Dr. Monica Gonzales, Lead Faculty, LSC-M Kinesiology Department

Course Conversion to Online Protocols Companion Resources

How to use this guide...

Contact Us

Building Your Course in D2L

Links to Key Resources in this Section

Need Help?

Tips to using the calendar: