The following databases are recommended for research on nursing topics. Keep in mind, no single database includes all journal articles, reports, conference proceedings, book chapters, etc. Depending on your topic, you may need to use several databases to locate the information you need.
UpToDate (Wolters Kluwer) - Clinical decision support system that helps clinicians throughout the world provide the best patient care. Uses current evidence to answer clinical questions quickly and easily at the point of care saving clinicians' time, improving outcomes, and lowering health care costs.
Medline w/Full Text (EBSCO) - This database provides full-text for many of the most-used biomedical and health journals indexed in MEDLINE. Many of the journals are available with no embargo, allowing doctors, nurses, health professionals, and researchers to access information as soon as it is published.
Nursing Reference Center (EBSCO) - Designed specifically for nurses, this resource provides evidence-based information for point of care, continuing education, nursing research and more. With Nursing Reference Center (NRC), nurses can get answers to questions quickly, strengthen their nursing skills and read full-text journal articles anytime and anywhere.
DynaMed Plus (EBSCO) - DynaMed is a clinician-focused tool designed to facilitate efficient and evidence-based patient care. Rigorous and daily review of medical literature by our physician and specialist staff ensures that timely and objective analysis, synthesis and guidance are at our users' fingertips.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) - This is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete, users get fast and easy full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more. Take a few minutes to evaluate all that CINAHL Complete has to offer and you’ll see why hundreds of thousands of nurses and allied health professionals rely on this essential resource.
ClinicalKey for Nursing (Elsevier) - ClinicalKey supports healthcare professionals and students with the latest evidence across specialties in a variety of formats, including full-text reference books and journals, point-of-care monographs, drug information, videos, practice guidelines, customized patient education handouts and more.
Clinical Pharmacology (Elsevier) - Used by more than 1,500 hospitals and over 35,000 retail pharmacies in the U.S., as well as government and managed care agencies, PBMs, pharmaceutical manufacturers and academic institutions, Clinical Pharmacology sets the standard for today’s referential and point-of-care drug information solutions.