Skip to main content

Humanities Research Guide

Research Databases

 

 

Quick Link: Research Databases Transcript | Open in a New Window

Recommended Databases

Access LSC-Montgomery Library's research databases to search for articles, ebooks, images and film. Databases are grouped by subject to expedite your research.

  • Academic Search Complete
    Full text of articles from journals, magazines and newspapers, plus image collections. Users can limit results to scholarly material. (EBSCO)
  • Bloom's Literature
    Essays and criticism examining the lives of great authors and their works throughout history. (Facts on File)
  • Dictionary of Literary Biography
    Biographies of authors with bibliographies of their works. (Gale Cengage Learning)
  • History Study Center
    A collection of primary and secondary sources on global history from ancient times to the present day. (ProQuest)
  • Humanities Full Text
    Full-text articles from over 330 journals encompassing all fields of humanities and periodicals dating to 1910. (EBSCO/H.W. Wilson)
  • JSTOR
    Includes full-text back issues of selected peer-reviewed journals in such areas as history, statistics, sociology, literature, and economics. (Mellon Foundation)‚Äč
  • Literary Reference Center
    Criticisms, synopses, and reviews of authors and their works, full text poems, short stories, and classic novels, as well as full text from over 400 literary journals. (EBSCO)
  • Literature Resource Center
    Includes journal articles, critical essays, work overviews & summaries, and author biographies. (Gale Cengage Learning)
  • Oxford Art Online (includes Grove Art)
    Full-text art reference (including Grove Art) covering all the visual arts from prehistory to the present with links to 5,000 images from the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), Art Images for College Teaching (AICT), and the Artists Rights Society and text from Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Dictionary of Art Terms. (Oxford University Press)
  • Oxford Music Online (LSC-Montgomery & LSC-Tomball)
    Online music reference source includes articles from the Oxford Companion to Music, Grove dictionaries of American music, jazz, opera, and musical instruments, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music. (Oxford University Press)
  • Project Muse
    Full-text articles from "over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals." (Johns Hopkins University Press)
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection
    Includes over 300 full-text journals on such topics as world religions, biblical studies, and many aspects of philosophy. (EBSCO)
  • Academic Video Online: Premium
    Full-length videos on various topics, documentaries, instructional materials and limited historical news reports. (Alexander Street Plus)
  • Films on Demand
    High-quality, educational streaming video from companies such as Films for the Humanities, BBC, PBS. (Films Media Group)
  • Kanopy
    Classic cinema, independent films, and top documentaries in streaming video. Includes Media Education Foundation Collection. (Kanopy)