Sarah has experience with graphic design, audio and film editing, and web design. She also enjoys knitting, bookmaking, and Legos.
Maker Guides are here to guide you through the process of making. Maker guides do not complete elements of the project for the student and are available to help as their time permits
|
Production Station This station is designed to support audio/visual editing, graphic design, and other creative media projects. Software available includes the Adobe Creative Suite, Camtasia 2, and Final Cut Pro. Hardware available includes recording mic, sound panels, green screen, lighting, web camera, and more. |
 |
 |
"Animation offers a medium of storytelling and visual entertainment which can bring pleasure and information to people of all ages everywhere in the world." - Walt Disney |
Animated videos can be a great alternative to traditional powerpoint. An animation can serve as an introduction to a larger presentation or serve as the primary delivery mechanism. Add an animated short at the beginning of your presentation to draw the audience's attention and present key concepts. As you gain experience, take advantage of editing capabilities to develop an engaging feature film.
The MavericksMake makerspace offers a variety of camera options, as well as film and sound editing software to help you with your project.
 |
Adobe Edge Animate - Edge Animate lets web designers create interactive HTML animations for web, digital publishing, rich media advertising and more. |
 |
Adobe Flash Professional - Used to create and edit animation videos and multimedia content. |
|
|
Select the LaunchPad LaunchPad 
application in the dock. Mouse through to find your desired program.
 |
Animaker - Animaker is an online do-it-yourself (#DIY) animation video maker that brings studio quality presentations within everyone's reach. This resources includes features specifically designed to support the creation of video infographics. |
 |
PowToon - PowToon is an online business presentation software tool that allows you to create free, cool, and awesome animated video explainers. |
|
Biteable - Biteable is an animation video maker that allows you to customize your videos for free. |
|
Click the images above to link directly to the resources. Most of these resources offer free and paid features.
Select the "Tutorials & Resources" tab above for information about how to use these programs. The "Sample Projects" tab provides examples of projects that were created and edited using these resources.
Animaker
Key Resource: (New) Animaker Tutorial : How to create Awesome videos using Animaker
PowToon
Key Resource: PowToon Video Tutorials (Video)
|
|
Biteable
Key Resource: How to Make a Video With Biteable (Video)
Adobe Edge Animate
Key Resource: Adobe Edge Animate CC Help File (PDF)
Animated Video created using Animaker - http://www.animaker.com
An introduction to the Student Tutoring and Research Center at LSC-Montgomery
Examples of Animation
PowToon
How to create animated presentations
Animaker
Biteable
Adobe Flash
 |
"We love films and storytelling as a people. It's just a human compulsion to listen to and tell stories" - Mychael Danna |
This station can be used to create and edit professional-looking film presentations, movie trailers, video clips, and more. New users should be aware that there is a learning curve when using some of the software programs; however, many tutorials and help guides are available online. Select the "Getting Started" tab to get a basic introduction to the video editing resources available at this station.
 |
Camtasia - Recording and editing software for creating screencasts and tutorials. This program features drag-and-drop elements to easily edit videos and add custom animations and enhancing effects. This is a great program for beginner video editors. |
 |
iMovie - User-friendly video editing software. This program has less features than Adobe Premier Pro but is also much easier to use. iMovie is free for Mac and iOS users. It is a simple way to create impressive video clips, trailers, and more. |
 |
Adobe Premiere Pro - Professional grade, timeline based video editing software. Use this program to edit and mix sound for your videos. This program works well with other Adobe products but does have a steep learning curve. |
|
|
On the Production Station Mac computer, select the LaunchPad application in the dock. Mouse through to find your desired program.
Select the "Tutorials & Resources" tab above for information about how to use these programs. The "Sample Projects" tab provides examples of projects that were created and edited using these resources.
Key Resource: Camtasia for Mac Tutorials (Video Series)
| Camtasia Tips and Tricks (Website) | Camtasia Tips (Video) |
| Camtasia User's Guide (PDF) | Camtasia Help File (Website) |
Key Resource: iMovie for Beginners (Video)
| iMovie Tutorial - Free Class (Video) | iMovie Features (Website) |
| 20 iMovie Tips and Tricks (Website) | iMovie Keyboard Shortcuts (PDF) |
Key Resource: Premiere Pro Tutorials (Video Series)
| Adding Effects Tutorial - Premiere (Video) | Premiere Pro Guide (PDF) |
| Premiere Pro Keyboard Shortcuts (Website) | 10 Time Saving Tips (Website) |
Created and edited in the MavericksMake makerspace using Camtasia.
 |
"Films are 50 percent visual and 50 percent sound. Sometimes sound even overplays the visual." - David Lynch |
This station can be used to create and edit audio clips. New users should be aware that there is a learning curve when using some of the software programs; however, many tutorials and help guides are available online. Select the "Getting Started" tab to get a basic introduction to the audio editing resources available at this station.
 |
Camtasia - Used to create and edit video and screen capture projects. Camtasia allows the user to seperate the video and audio tracks and edit the audio seperately. |
 |
Adobe Auditions - Used to create, edit, and remaster audio. |
On the Production Station Mac computer, select the LaunchPad application in the dock. Mouse through to find your desired program.
Select the "Tutorials & Resources" tab above for information about how to use these programs. The "Sample Projects" tab provides examples of projects that were created and edited using these resources.
Key Resource: Camtasia for Mac Tutorials (Video Series)
| Camtasia User's Guide (PDF) | Camtasia Audio Basics (Video) |
| Camtasia Help File (PDF) | Camtasia Tips and Tricks (Website) |
Key Resource: Adobe Audition Tutorials (Video Series)
| Audition Tutorial for Beginners (Video) | Removing Noises from Audio Clips (Video) |
| Adobe Audition Tutorial (PDF) | Audio Editing Cheat Sheet - Audition (PDF) |
Created and edited in the MavericksMake makerspace using Camtasia.
 |
"Graphic design, also known as communication design, is the art and practice of planning and projecting ideas and experiences with visual and textual content. The form of the communication can be physical or virtual, and may include images, words, or graphic forms." (AIGA) |
This station can be used to create vector art, posters, sample packaging, and other types visual aids for class projects. New users should be aware that there is a learning curve when using some of the software programs; however, many tutorials and help guides are available online. Select the "Getting Started" tab to get a basic introduction to the graphic design resources available at this station.
 |
Adobe Illustrator - Used to create and edit vector images and projects. These vector images can be used in many other programs, such as Photoshop, Flash, After Effects, or Premier. |
 |
Adobe Photoshop - Used to create and edit raster images and projects |
 |
Adobe InDesign - Used to layout designs for print and web projects. |
Select the LaunchPad application in the dock. Mouse through to find your desired program.
Select the "Tutorials & Resources" tab for information about how to use these programs. The Sample Projects tab provides step-by-step walkthroughs for projects using these programs.
| 10 Basic Elements of Design (Web Article) | Essential Graphic Design Concepts for Non-Designers (PDF) |
| What to Know How to Design?: Learn the Basics (Web Article) |
Key Resource: Illustrator Tutorials: From Novice to Expert
| Illustrator Tutorials for Beginners (Video Series) | Adobe Illustrator Books (eBooks) |
| Layers Illustrator Tutorials (Website) |
Key Resource: InDesign Tutorials: From Novice to Expert
| 44 InDesign Tutorials (Web Article) | Adobe InDesign Books (eBooks) |
| Layers InDesign Tutorials (Website) |
Key Resource: Photoshop Tutorials: From Novice to Expert
| How to Get Started with Photoshop CC (Video) | Adobe Photoshop CC 2014 Tutorial (PDF) |
| Layers Photoshop Tutorials (Website) | Adobe Photoshop Books (eBooks) |
25 Tutorials to Build Up Your Design Skills (Web Article)
120 Best Illustrator Tutorials of 2014
How to Create a Magazine in InDesign
 |
"A picture is worth a thousand words." |
Use images to illustrate a concept, add emotion to a presentation, or bring a project to life. This guide will help you edit pictures to make your work standout. New users should be aware that there is a learning curve when using the software in this guide; however, there are many more tutorials and help guides available online. Select the "Getting Started" tab to get a basic introduction to the photo editing resources available at this station.
|
|
Adobe Photoshop - Used to create and edit raster images and projects |
Select the LaunchPad application in the dock. Mouse through to find your desired program.
Select the "Tutorials & Resources" tab for information about how to use these programs. The Sample Projects tab provides step-by-step walkthroughs for projects using these programs.
 |
"I like the freedom of podcasting. With podcasting you can really mess around with the form and the format." - Adam Carolla |
A podcast is a series of episodes delivered in various formats, but usually in audio or video. Users can access each episode on the web and download for consumption at their convenience. Podcasting/videocasting is an interesting way to present information on a topic. This guide will help you get started by directing you to key software and online resources. Select the "Getting Started" tab to get a basic introduction to podcasting/videocasting resources available at this station.
|
|
Camtasia - Used to create and edit video and screen capture projects. |
|
|
Adobe Auditions - Used to create, edit, and remaster audio. |
Select the LaunchPad application in the dock. Mouse through to find your desired program.
Select the "Tutorials & Resources" tab for information about how to use these programs. The Sample Projects tab provides step-by-step walkthroughs for projects using these programs.
 |
"Good web design is about the character of the content, not the character of the designer" - Jeffrey Zeldman |
Building a website is a great way to give your audience information and other materials whenever they want to access it. With this more robust content delivery tool, you'll be able to add additional resources you can't normally include in a PowerPoint presentation or video. For example, links to external sites, embedded interactive elements, or assessment tools. The best part is that your audience can come back again and again!
 |
Adobe Dreamweaver - Used to create and edit HTML websites. |
|
|
Select the LaunchPad LaunchPad application in the dock. Mouse through to find your desired program.
 |
Weebly - Weebly makes it surprisingly easy to create a high-quality website, blog or online store. Features a drag-and-drop interface.
|
 |
Wordpress - Create a free website or easily build a blog on WordPress.com. Hundreds of free, customizable, mobile-ready designs and themes. Free hosting and support.
|
|
|
Wix - Wix.com is a cloud-based web development platform that allows users to create HTML 5 websites and mobile sites through the use of their online drag and drop tools. |
Accessing Online Tools:
Click the images above to link directly to the resources. Most of these resources offer free and paid features.
Select the "Tutorials & Resources" tab for information about how to use these programs. The Sample Projects tab a selection of infographic projects.
Adobe's Dreamweaver Tutorials (Website)
Webucator: Adobe Dreamweaver CS6/CC Free Tutorial (website)
Weebly: The Essentials (Website)
Weebly 2016 - Introduction tutorial to weebly.com: Create a Free Website (Video)
Get the Most from Wordpress.com (Website)
WordPress Tutorial for Beginners 2016: Step by Step Build Your Website (Video)
Student Dreamweaver Websites (Web Article)
Student Wordpress Websites (Web Article)
 |
" "Infographic thinking" doesn’t let designers to interpret a narrative visually; it lets them invite the viewer [to] join in the process of interpretation, too. It’s what makes infographic design a language, not a formula or a fad." - John Pavlus |
Infographics are a powerful and interesting way to present complicated data. Crafted correctly, an infographic allows researchers to make abstract data tangible, as well as tell a compelling story that can both inform and inspire the reader to action. This guide provides all the resources you need to start making your own infographics. Click on the "Getting Started" tab to start exploring the resources in this guide.
|
|
Adobe Illustrator - Used to create and edit vector images and projects. These vector images can be used in many other programs, such as Photoshop, Flash, After Effects, or Premier. |
 |
Excel - Used to create spreadsheets of data that can then be represented as charts and graphs. These charts and graphs can be imported into other software programs, such as Word or PowerPoint. |
Select the LaunchPad LaunchPad application in the dock. Mouse through to find your desired program.
 |
Infogr.am - A web app that lets you easily create beautiful infographics on the web. You can build real-time, interactive, shareable, embeddable and downloadable infographics using more than 30 chart types, text objects, videos, images and maps. |
 |
Piktochart - A web app that offers an easy to use editor to create interactive infographics. Users can use a pre-built template or start from scratch. This app also offers a presentation mode and easy online sharing. |
 |
Vizualize.me - A web app that allows users to create a infographic style resume. |
 |
Wordle - A web app that used to generate "word clouds" from text the user provides. The clouds give greater prominence to words that appear more frequently in the source text. |
 |
Canva - A web app that offers various graphic design tools. Users can create a variety of projects, including infographics. The app includes templates and an image library. Users can export projects in a variety of formats. |
|
Animaker - an online do-it-yourself (#DIY) animation video maker that brings studio quality presentations within everyone's reach. This resources includes features specifically designed to support the creation of video infographics. |
Click the images above to link directly to the resources. Most of these resources offer free and paid features.
Select the "Tutorials & Resources" tab for information about how to use these programs. The Sample Projects tab a selection of infographic projects.
How to Create Infographics: Part 1 - Intro to Infographics (Video)
How to Create an Animated Infographic - includes great tips for creating infographics in general (Video)
12 Infographic Tips You Wish You Knew Years Ago (Blog Post)
Top Tips from Experts on What Makes a Great Infographic (Blog Post)
Five Steps to Creating A Powerful Infographic (Blog Post)
Illustrator
Infographic Design 101: Designing Infographics with Illustrator (Video Collection)
Canva
How To Create Infographics (The Ultra-Simple & Easy Way) (in Canva) (Video)
How to Create Graphics with Canva (For Beginners) (Video)
Piktochart
How to create a Piktochart Infographic Easily (Video)
How to great Piktochart Infographics (Video Playlist)
PowerPoint
Presentation Slides: All About Infographics
Example: Career Exploration Assignment (EDUC 1300)
