Skip to main content

eBook Access

EBSCO eBook Collections (LSCS, MCMLS, HCPL)

Library Card Needed: Lone Star College System, Montgomery County Memorial Library System, or Harris County Public Library

Access Types: Online Web Browser or Offline via Application

Applications Needed: Web Browser or Bluefire Reader App

Links:

From your browser:

1. Navigate to the resource.

2. Search for items by keyword, subject, or title.

3.Select desired record.

4. Select "PDF Full Text" or "EPUB Full Text" link on the left sidebar.


Before you start:

Download the Bluefire Reader App to your device.

Create an Adobe ID


Checkout and Download an eBook

Use the Safari browser on your device to access EBSCO eBooks and locate an eBook you would like to download to the device.

To download an eBook:

  1. Click the Download (Offline) link for the eBook you would like to download.

    If you are not logged into your My EBSCOhost folder, you will be prompted to do so.

  2. Select a Checkout period from the drop-down menu and click the Checkout & Download button.

    The eBook will be added to the Checkouts area of the folder.

  3. When prompted, tap to open the eBook with the Bluefire app.

    The Bluefire app opens and begins downloading the book.

  4. After the eBook is finished downloading, select Read Later or Read Now to open your eBook and begin reading.

Before you start:

Download the Bluefire Reader App to your device.

Install iTunes 

Install Adobe Digital Editions

Create an Adobe ID


Checkout and Download an eBook

Next, locate an eBook you wish to download to your device and use the following steps to download it.

To download an eBook:

  1. Click the Download (Offline) link for the eBook you would like to download.

  2. Select a Checkout period from the drop-down menu and click the Checkout & Download button.

    The eBook will be added to the Checkouts area of the folder. If you are not logged into your My EBSCOhost folder, you will be prompted to do so.

  3. Select Open in Adobe Digital Editions and click OK.

    Digital Editions sees the .acsm file, automatically downloads the PDF and unlocks the file's Digital Rights Management (DRM). The book can now be read in Digital Editions.


Transfer the eBook to your device

After downloading the eBook to your computer, you must find the (.pdf or .epub) file on your computer and use iTunes to transfer it to the device.

Digital Editions stores your eBook files in a default location on your computer:

On OSX: your-home-directory/Documents/Digital Editions
On Windows: your-home-directory/Documents/My Digital Editions

Once you have located your eBook file, use iTunes to transfer the eBook to Bluefire Reader.

To transfer the eBook to Bluefire Reader:

  1. Connect your iPad, iPhone or iPod touch with Bluefire Reader v2.5 (or higher) to the computer that has iTunes, Digital Editions, and the eBook file on it.

    Your device should appear under Devices in the left column of iTunes.

  2. Click on your device in the left column.

  3. click on the Apps tab for your device at the top of the main iTunes window.

    The File Sharing panel appears under the Sync Apps panel.

  4. Click on Bluefire or Bluefire Reader under Apps in the File Sharing panel.

    The eBooks you have in Bluefire Reader appear in the Documents list to the right.

  5. Click the Add... button at the bottom of the Documents list and browse to your library book in the Digital Editions default documents directory and then choose the file.

    iTunes transfers the file to your device and Bluefire Reader automatically adds this item to your Bluefire Reader Library.

  6. Open your eBook in Bluefire Reader to begin reading.

Loading

E-Libro Premium (LSCS, MCMLS, HCPL)

Library Card Needed: Lone Star College System, Montgomery County Memorial Library System, or Harris County Public Library

Access Types: Online Web Browser or Offline via Application

Applications Needed: Online Web Browser or Bluefire Reader App

Links:

From your browser:

1. Navigate to the resource.

2. Search for items by keyword, subject, or title.

3. Select desired record.

4. Select "Read Online" or "Full Download" link on the left sidebar. There is also an option for "Chapter Download."

Before you start:

Download the Bluefire Reader App to your device.

Create an Adobe ID


Checkout and Download an eBook

Use the Safari browser on your device to access E-Libro Premium and locate an eBook you would like to download to the device.

To download an eBook:

  1. Click the Full Download or Chapter Download link for the eBook you would like to download.

  2. Choose the device you are using to download the eBook and tap "Continue."

  3. When prompted, tap on "Download Your Book."

  4. When prompted, tap to open the eBook with the Bluefire app.

    The Bluefire app opens and begins downloading the book.

  5. After the eBook is finished downloading, select Read Later or Read Now to open your eBook and begin reading.

Before you start:

Download the Bluefire Reader App to your device.

Install iTunes 

Install Adobe Digital Editions

Create an Adobe ID


Checkout and Download an eBook

Next, locate an eBook you wish to download to your device and use the following steps to download it.

To download an eBook:

  1. Click the Download (Offline) link for the eBook you would like to download.

  2. Select a Checkout period from the drop-down menu and click the Checkout & Download button.

    The eBook will be added to the Checkouts area of the folder. If you are not logged into your E-Libro Premium account, you will be prompted to do so.

  3. Select Open in Adobe Digital Editions and click OK.

    Digital Editions sees the .acsm file, automatically downloads the PDF and unlocks the file's Digital Rights Management (DRM). The book can now be read in Digital Editions.


Transfer the eBook to your device

After downloading the eBook to your computer, you must find the (.pdf or .epub) file on your computer and use iTunes to transfer it to the device.

Digital Editions stores your eBook files in a default location on your computer:

On OSX: your-home-directory/Documents/Digital Editions
On Windows: your-home-directory/Documents/My Digital Editions

Once you have located your eBook file, use iTunes to transfer the eBook to Bluefire Reader.

To transfer the eBook to Bluefire Reader:

  1. Connect your iPad, iPhone or iPod touch with Bluefire Reader v2.5 (or higher) to the computer that has iTunes, Digital Editions, and the eBook file on it.

    Your device should appear under Devices in the left column of iTunes.

  2. Click on your device in the left column.

  3. click on the Apps tab for your device at the top of the main iTunes window.

    The File Sharing panel appears under the Sync Apps panel.

  4. Click on Bluefire or Bluefire Reader under Apps in the File Sharing panel.

    The eBooks you have in Bluefire Reader appear in the Documents list to the right.

  5. Click the Add... button at the bottom of the Documents list and browse to your library book in the Digital Editions default documents directory and then choose the file.

    iTunes transfers the file to your device and Bluefire Reader automatically adds this item to your Bluefire Reader Library.

  6. Open your eBook in Bluefire Reader to begin reading.

Loading

Gale Virtual Reference (LSCS)

Library Card Needed: Lone Star College System

Access Types: Online Web Browser or Offline via Application

Applications Needed: Online Web Browser or Access My Library App

Links:

From your browser:

1. Navigate to the resource.

2. Search for items by keyword, subject, or title.

3.Select desired record. The full-text is available in the record.

4. In the Tools section, Select "Download".

5. Select "PDF" or "HTML"


1. Download the Access My Library App

2. Select Academic Libraries

3. Select Lone Star College System

4. Enter password. If you do not know your password, select "Retrieve Password" and enter your lonestar.edu email.

5. Enter search in the "Power Search" bar and select the "eBook" option, and then "Search".

6. Select title.

7. In the Tools section, Select "Download".

8. Select "PDF".

9. Select "Options" at the top to open the PDF in another app for offline reading.

From your browser:

1. Navigate to the resource.

2. Search for items by keyword, subject, or title.

3.Select desired record. The full-text is available in the record.

4. In the Tools section, Select "Download" or "Email" (send it to yourself to open on another device).

5. Select "PDF" and download to your device or transfer to your device from your computer.



From the Access My Library App:

1. Select title.

2. In the Tools section, Select "Download".

3. Select "PDF".

4. Select "Options" at the top to open the PDF in another app for offline reading.

Loading

STAT!Ref (LSCS)

Library Card Needed: Lone Star College System

Access Types: Online Web Browser or STAT!Ref App

Applications Needed: Web Browser or STAT!Ref App

Links:

From your browser:

1. Navigate to the resource.

2. Search for items by keyword, subject, or title.

3. Select desired record.

4. Scroll to the down the records and select the desired section from the "Contents" section for the full-text.


1. Download the STAT!Ref App to your device.

2. From your browser, navigate to the resource.

3. Create a STAT!Ref account by selecting the "My STAT!Ref" link.


4. Create a temporary login by selecting the "Temporary Login Account" tab.


5. Activate the STAT!Ref mobile app with the temporary login.

6. Start using the STAT!Ref app.

Note: You will occasionally need to renew the temporary login via the web browser.

For more detailed steps see: STAT!Ref Mobile App Help Sheet

Loading

Other Databases