Skip to main content

Researching Student Services

Research support for staff and faculty in student services

Library Catalog

 

 

Quick Link: Library Catalog Transcript | Open in a New Window

Explore Subject Headings

To browse the LSC-Montgomery Library collection by subject heading, click on the links below. 

Tips: If you are searching the library catalog and find a something that is relevant to your topic, you can search the shelves in the library in the same call number area to find related items.

Remove the "Location: LSC-Montgomery Library" limit in the catalog to browse all of the resources available in the system.

Browse the Collection

The items in the library are organized by subject. You can browse these call number areas to find items related to Education. 

Education (General) L7 - L991 History of Education LA5 - LA2396
Basic Education LC1035 - LC1035.8 Right to Education LC213 - LC214.53
Community Colleges LD6501 Social Aspects LC65 - LC245
Early Childhood Education LB139.2 - LB1139.5 Theory and Practice LB5 - LB3640
Education Psychology LB1050.9 - LB1091 Types of Education LC980 - LC1099.5
Higher Education LB2300 - LB2430 Vocational Education LC1041 - LC1048

Reading Call Numbers

Items in the library are organized by call number. The call number is like an address for the item and allows you to quickly locate items. The call number for each item is listed in its record in the Library Catalog. 

Anatomy of a Call Number

BA
276
.O89
1998
BA 276 .O89 1998
Complete call number. The first two letters correspond to the subject area; look for these first. Read the numbers before the dot as a whole number. A letter follows the dot and the numbers after the dot are read as a decimal. This is the year the item was published.

Tips

  • Items marked as "REF" are for in-library use only, but there are copiers and scanners available. Copies cost $.10 a page. Scanners are free to use, but remember to bring a USB to save your files.
  • The record will indicate if the item is in a special collection. Items in a special collection are shelved together and are not apart of the regular collection. Lone Star College-Montgomery library has special collection areas for Music, Foreign Language, Leisure Reading, the Student Success and Career Collection, Periodicals, and the Children's Collection.