Full text content of hundreds of books by women writers throughout history. Includes novels, poems, letters, and biographies. Browse or search by author name. Some books are in foreign languages. By Mary Mark, Univ. of Pennsylvania.
Emily Dickinson Archive makes high-resolution images of Dickinson’s surviving manuscripts available in open access, and provides readers with a website through which they can view images of manuscripts held in multiple libraries and archives
Etext Center at the University of Virginia Library fostered innovation through technology and set an early precedent for the creation and use of digital materials by scholars in the humanities. Goal: to build and maintain an Internet- accessible collection of documents central to teaching and research in the humanities, and to nurture a user community adept at the creation and scholarly use of these materials. More than 10,000 historic literary texts and interpretations online.
This site provides materials for Harvard University's Chaucer classes in the Core Program, the English Department, and the Division of Continuing Education. Includes analysis of Canterbury Tales and use of Middle English.
American Verse Project is a collaborative project between the University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative (HTI) and the University of Michigan Press. The project is assembling an electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920. The full text of each volume of poetry is being converted into digital form.
The ipl2 Literary Criticism Collection contains critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by nationality and literary period. Search by author, title or literary period. ipl2 site is hosted by Drexel University's College of Information Science & Technology, and a consortium of colleges and universities.
The Ibero-American Electronic Text Series is a project developed at the University of Wisconsin-Madison devoted to Latin American and Iberian works in the humanities. University of Wisconsin Digital Collections Center.
Goal is to allow readers, scholars, students and teachers to see what Mark Twain and His Times said about each other, in a way that can speak to us today. Contained here are dozens of texts and manuscripts, scores of contemporary reviews and articles, hundreds of images, and many different kinds of interactive exhibits. Produced by the University of Virginia Library. Includes some contemporary reviews.
Extraordinary in its depth and breadth, and a one-of-a-kind resource for teaching modern American poetry, MAPS provides a single clearinghouse for some of the best criticism on the best poets of our time. MAPS has grown over the past decade to more than 30,000 pages of biographies, critical essays, syllabi and images relating to 161 poets. Source: Department of English, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
This heterogeneous collection contains fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, letters, newspapers, manuscripts and illustrations from 1500 to the present, arranged for browsing by author's last name or by category of interest. Digital Scholarship Services, University of Virginia Library.
Poetry Archive aims to bring the widest possible audience to the fullest possible range of English-language poetry being published around the world, and to complement that poetry with educational material of value both to the specialist and to the general reader. Includes poetry for children.
Representative Poetry Online includes 4,700 English poems by 723 poets from Caedmon, in the Old English period, to the work of living poets today. It is based on Representative Poetry, established by Professor W. J. Alexander of University College, University of Toronto. Includes full-text of poems and poet biographies.
Amanda Mabillard, is a freelance writer specializing in Shakespeare, Renaissance political theory, theatre history, comparative literary history. She launched Shakespeare Online with hopes of providing free, original, and accurate information on Shakespeare to students, teachers, and Shakespeare enthusiasts. Merriam-Webster online newsletter (April 2011), affirmed that Shakespeare Online "leads to a wealth of information on the man, his world, and his works."
Shakespeare Resource Center. You'll find here collected links from all over the World Wide Web to help you find information on William Shakespeare. Includes information about Shakespeare's language and interpretation of his works
Victorian Women Writers Project began at Indiana University and is primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century. The collection represents an array of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more.
Celebrating and documenting the creativity of Asian, Black, Latina, and Native women, VG is one of the internet's most comprehensive and well-respected academic databases for women artists of color. We provide innovative teaching and research tools for accessing a global community of women writers of color living and dead, obscure and renowned. Source: University of Minnesota.
Walt Whitman Archive, edited by Ed Folsom and Kenneth M. Price, is published by the Center for Digital Research in the Humanities at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln. Includes images of some of his manuscripts.
This is a collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875. There are currently 2,887 volumes included (1,763 unedited, 1,124 fully edited and encoded) by 1,456 authors. This fiction collection is searchable by title and author. Hosted by the Indiana University Digital Library Program.