Skip to main content

English Research Guide

In-Library Use: Course Reserve

Check Out The Course Reserve Textbook in the Library
You can check out the course reserve textbook for your class! Go to the circulation desk and ask for it by title.
(Note:  In-Library Use Only)

In-Library Use: Reference Books of Interest

Archetypes & Superstitions 

The reference books are located in the stacks. Click on the cover to find more information about the reference book along with the call number.

*Reference books, such as encyclopedias and dictionaries, are a great place to begin when researching a topic. They can give you further insight into your topic and provide additional ideas.

Cover image for Cassell's dictionary of superstitions / David Pickering.

Cover image for A dictionary of superstitions / edited by Iona Opie and Moira Tatem.

Cover image for The encyclopedia of superstitions / Richard Webster.

BF 1775 .P53 2002

*Reference Material

BF 1775 .D53 1992

*Reference Material

GR 81 .W43 2008

*Reference Material

BL 312 .L44 2005

*Reference Material

Cover image for The Herder dictionary of symbols : symbols from art, archaeology, mythology, literature, and religion Cover image for An illustrated encyclopaedia of traditional symbols Cover image for Symbolism : a comprehensive dictionary Cover image for Dictionary of biblical imagery

CB 475 .H4713 1993

*Reference Material

BL 603 .C66 1982

*Reference Material

CB 475 .038 198695

*Reference Material

BS 537 .D48 1998

*Reference Material

Instant Online Reading

Superstition

Click on the cover, select the "Electronic Access" link, select "Borrow", & enter your Library Barcode. You can read this on your mobile device or computer.   

Cover image for A dictionary of literary symbols           Bloomsbury Dictionary of Myth           Cover image for The golden bough [electronic resource] : a study in magic and religion / Sir James George Frazer ; edited with an introduction and notes by Robert Fraser.                         

Fairy Tales & Folklore

Click on the cover, select the "Electronic Access" link, select "Borrow", & enter your Library Barcode. You can read this on your mobile device or computer.   

 
Cover image for Folk and fairy tales a handbook Cover image for The irresistible fairy tale the Cultural and Social History of a Genre.
Cover image for Fairy tales and the art of subversion [electronic resource] : the classical genre for children and the process of civilization / Jack Zipes.
Cover image for The cat [electronic resource] : a tale of feminine redemption / Marie-Louise von Franz. Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Jacob Grimm Cover image for The violet fairy book [electronic resource] / edited by Andrew Lang.

 

Print Books of Interest

Check Out These Titles in the Library: Superstition

Click on the cover, locate the call number, and take the title to the front desk with your Student ID. 

Cover image for Death lore : Texas rituals, superstitions, and legends of the hereafter / edited by Kenneth L. Untiedt.

Cover image for Why people believe weird things : pseudoscience, superstition, and other confusions of our time / Michael Shermer ; foreword by Stephen Jay Gould.

HQ1073.5.U62 T49 2008 Q157 .S48 1997 BF173 .J6623 1976
 
BL304 .C36 1991 BL303.6.C35 A3 2003  

Check Out These Titles in the Library: Fairy Tales & Folklore

Click on the cover, locate the call number, and take the title to the front desk with your Student ID. 

 

Cover image for Folk & fairy tales / edited by Martin Hallett & Barbara Karasek.

Cover image for The Oxford companion to fairy tales / edited by Jack Zipes.

Cover image for The complete fairy tales of the Brothers Grimm / translated and with an introduction by Jack Zipes ; illustrations by John B. Gruelle.

Cover image for The witch must die : the hidden meaning of fairy tales / Sheldon Cashdan.

*Course Reserve

PN3437 .O94 2000

*Reference Material

PT921 .K5613 2003 GR550 .C39 1999
Cover image for Shadow and evil in fairy tales / Marie-Louise von Franz. Cover image for The yellow fairy book / edited by Andrew Lang ; with numerous illus. by H. J. Ford. Cover image for The complete fairy tales / Charles Perrault ; translated with an introduction and notes by Christopher Betts.
GR550 .F72 1995 GR550 .B47 1989 PZ8.L15 Y23 PQ1877 .A27 2009

Cover image for Animus and anima in fairy tales / Marie-Louise von Franz ; edited by Daryl Sharp.

Cover image for From the beast to the blonde : on fairy tales and their tellers / Marina Warner. Cover image for Don't bet on the prince : contemporary feminist fairy tales in North America and England / [edited by] Jack Zipes. Cover image for Twice upon a time : women writers and the history of the fairy tale / Elizabeth Wanning Harries.
GR550 .F68 2002 GR550 .W38 1995 PS648.F4 D66 1989 PN3437 .H37 2001
GR552 .L54 2012 PN3437 .F38 2012 GR550 .B47 2010 PR468.S34 K44 2015